HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 30, 2012, 05:51 AM
Tally Ho Chaps!
United Kingdom, England, Ipswich
Joined Mar 2012
452 Posts
Build Log
1/10 scale R.A.F Se5a build

Hi there. Chompy here, I am a newbie to both this site, and the world of planes in general. Apart from a couple of Guillows small scale rubber powered planes for my boys this is my first attempt at building.
I have thrown myself in at the deep end and started with a build from plans of a David Boddington designed SE5a.
I am already a couple of months in to the build which I am finding both a great source of pleasure and frustration at the same time.
The fuselage is almost complete and the centre sections of both wings are roughly in place.
The original design was powered by a .010 glow motor with 3 channel controls.
I have adapted the design myself to run electric with 4 channels.
I love the look of late WW1 biplanes from both sides of 'no mans land', both on the ground and in the air.
I look forward to conversation with anyone with similar interests and hope to provide an entertaining insight into my attempts at building something which not only looks the part but flys the part too.
Chompwat is offline Find More Posts by Chompwat
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2012, 03:01 PM
Norfolk, England
Joined Sep 2001
7,673 Posts
Welcome aboard, you'll find lots of helpful advice here. True, some of it may be conflicting advice, but that's the nature of the beast. We all have our own ways of doing things.

From your comments, I take it you have yet to learn to fly radio models? Don't even think about learning with this model or your modelling career may be very short-lived - about 60 seconds if you lucky and only 5 seconds if you are unlucky. Scale models look great, but make terrible basic trainers.

Boddo's models almost always fly extremely well and he knew his stuff. Therefore, stick with the thrust lines he suggests and aim for a motor to match the power level of a .10 wet and smelly.