SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 16, 2012, 04:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
753 Posts
Y4 setup.. ( feel so much more solid) on this little one..

Vtail4 - ( PID setting seem good I did not make any changes)

Y4 - Tail wag's back and forth..

I change P= 5.6 and I 0.010 ..

Real quick setup and look like I got the major wag out..

did a quick test outside.. and vs Vtail .. ( seem much more stable)
on V tail it can drop out if you are aggressive in the turns..

Frame is holding up good dropped it from.. 4.. 5.. 6.. 7 feet I'm sure.. and yet to break any props..

I have bent them.. but these are soft\hard plastic.. ( if you get me) not .. flexible .. springy..plastic..

So I just bent them back.. sure they cant take much of that..but hold up so far.

I think I will push the Y4 more and see how it does..
flyhigh300 is offline Find More Posts by flyhigh300
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 16, 2012, 07:12 PM
kad
Quad Crasher
kad's Avatar
United States, NY, Poughkeepsie
Joined May 2012
671 Posts
Ok, with the prop adapters and the 3 bladed props finally in hand, I did some more testing this evening.

I installed the prop adapters with the 2 blade props, reset the FC to defaults, charged the battery and tried it out. She got into the air this time and was even able to hover for bit, but it took almost 100% throttle to get it to do so. Then, each attempt, after 30-60 seconds, she would settle to the ground, despite pushing the throttle to 100%. I then tried a few different pid settings (high & low, the defaults were mid), lowering the gyro_lpf to 20, etc. No change.

I then switched over to the 3 blade props. And she's back to the wet dog imitation, just shaking back and forth on the ground. (Yes, the props are on right, etc). A couple of different pid settings made no difference. Unless someone has a brilliant inspiration, I think the Naze32 has to officially be declared "Does not work with VTail frames."

-K
kad is offline Find More Posts by kad
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2012, 08:47 PM
Registered User
Albuquerque, NM
Joined Aug 2002
728 Posts
I would like to see someone try the baseFlightPlus software on the v tail. It's got much improved sensor filtering that should, in theory, help. I've got a Naze mounted to my v tail frame, but I'm still waiting for other parts.

The code does not work with any configurator program, it's all set up via a command line interface.

I'm working on some updates to increase the flight control update rate from 100 to 200 Hz, and clean up the default PID values. The default rate PID P values of 200 need to be reduced to 150 or less before flight is attempted.

There's a lot of other improvements in this alternate code, but I won't detail that here.

PM me with any questions if you decide to try it.
jihlein is online now Find More Posts by jihlein
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2012, 08:56 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,827 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jihlein View Post
I would like to see someone try the baseFlightPlus software on the v tail. It's got much improved sensor filtering that should, in theory, help. I've got a Naze mounted to my v tail frame, but I'm still waiting for other parts.

The code does not work with any configurator program, it's all set up via a command line interface.

I'm working on some updates to increase the flight control update rate from 100 to 200 Hz, and clean up the default PID values. The default rate PID P values of 200 need to be reduced to 150 or less before flight is attempted.

There's a lot of other improvements in this alternate code, but I won't detail that here.

PM me with any questions if you decide to try it.
Feel free to talk about it here..!
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 16, 2012, 09:12 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
is it possible to use 12" prop?

and i wonder if there is any upgrade kit going to be available to increase the height of the landing gears so larger prop can be used?
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 05:30 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,827 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
is it possible to use 12" prop?

and i wonder if there is any upgrade kit going to be available to increase the height of the landing gears so larger prop can be used?
I do that at home and in my basement..
Not my full time job.

If you need a taller landing just ask i can draw something for sure.
Working mostly on people request for upgrades like that.

I will look later (not on the right pc) if the 500 can accomodate 12" prop.
But il look big to me.
Which motor you want to use that run 12" prop ?
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 17, 2012, 09:30 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
I do that at home and in my basement..
Not my full time job.

If you need a taller landing just ask i can draw something for sure.
Working mostly on people request for upgrades like that.

I will look later (not on the right pc) if the 500 can accomodate 12" prop.
But il look big to me.
Which motor you want to use that run 12" prop ?
im going after rctimer 2830-14 (recycle from my other quad)

since the motor-motor is 500mm.. it can literally fit 17" prop.. but i wont do that

i guess 12" should work fine..
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 09:33 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,827 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
im going after rctimer 2830-14 (recycle from my other quad)

since the motor-motor is 500mm.. it can literally fit 17" prop.. but i wont do that

i guess 12" should work fine..
No it can't fit 17" prop...!
This is a VTail not a Quad.

Prop that are on the back will hit the ground or each other
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 17, 2012, 09:38 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
No it can't fit 17" prop...!
This is a VTail not a Quad.

Prop that are on the back will hit the ground or each other
i was saying.. LITERALLY..
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 09:44 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,827 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
i was saying.. LITERALLY..
I am looking at drawing and 12" will not fit.
The drawing show prop on the surface of motor mount, but if you extend them (normaly motor sit 1.5-2cm above that) you will hit the ground.
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 17, 2012, 10:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
753 Posts
haha... since there is talk of some interest for larger V tail..

here is an idea I've been thinking about...

I call it.. Heli-Vtail

the construction would look similar.. to a Helicopter frame.
Note: Geometry is not Correct..

FB would sit further forward.. tail would be longer
CG would also not be in the center.

The frame is intended to fit a Heli Canopy Trex500,

The Ideas is that ti would give great visual reference.. for new flyers..

where the normal rotor shaft goes.. ( you have to booms)
where the tail rotor goes you have the V part.

Frame could be build in two options.. "Traditional Vtail"
with all motors fixed.

or the two front ones could Pivot Independently..for some crazy control

haha.. the mixing option could be endless..


Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
im going after rctimer 2830-14 (recycle from my other quad)

since the motor-motor is 500mm.. it can literally fit 17" prop.. but i wont do that

i guess 12" should work fine..
flyhigh300 is offline Find More Posts by flyhigh300
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 11:13 AM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
I am looking at drawing and 12" will not fit.
The drawing show prop on the surface of motor mount, but if you extend them (normaly motor sit 1.5-2cm above that) you will hit the ground.
is it possible to increase horizontal distance between the tail motors?

also.. i actually have thought about something else to implement larger front prop.. use higher Kv motor with fit-size prop.. since the front/rear motors are already not on the same throttle level most of time.. different pairs of motor should not make much trouble as long as they provide enough thrust.
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 11:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2010
753 Posts
I think it best to scale the entire frame..

there was a few people using .. High Power systems... that had problem with
tail flex and front boom flex.

is your goal to build ? .. a heavy lift Vtail ?

or just use the motors you have ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
is it possible to increase horizontal distance between the tail motors?

also.. i actually have thought about something else to implement larger front prop.. use higher Kv motor with fit-size prop.. since the front/rear motors are already not on the same throttle level most of time.. different pairs of motor should not make much trouble as long as they provide enough thrust.
flyhigh300 is offline Find More Posts by flyhigh300
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 12:13 PM
James not bond
jy0933's Avatar
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined May 2012
2,074 Posts
i recycle them from my other quad.. since no one wants them.. i decide to reuse for some cool frames...
jy0933 is offline Find More Posts by jy0933
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 12:15 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,827 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jy0933 View Post
is it possible to increase horizontal distance between the tail motors?

also.. i actually have thought about something else to implement larger front prop.. use higher Kv motor with fit-size prop.. since the front/rear motors are already not on the same throttle level most of time.. different pairs of motor should not make much trouble as long as they provide enough thrust.
It is possible.
Only the "V" shape part would need to be change.
But i do think it will put a lot of stress on the tail arm (Twist)

Doing both top and bottom tail arm in 2.3mm would help there
Dialfonzo is online now Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Bledi-DiaLFonZo Copter VTail HUNTER 400 CANOPY + Addons Innerbreed Multirotor Talk 42 Sep 20, 2013 09:41 PM