HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 16, 2013, 06:12 AM
DotCoDotUk
Innerbreed's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
153 Posts
Ok i thought while i wait for my test frame to arrive i'd go over the spec im planning to use.
i have a few questions about this also as most of you are already flying these birds and are in the knowledge of what works best as im not that tuned into KV/AMPs/etc.

Frame:
400

FC
MPU6050 FLIP 1.5

TX
Eurgle 2.4Ghz 9x (3rd Gen)

ProFlight-UK 30A ESC SimonK: overkill?
Input voltage: 6 - 16.8V(2-4S LiPo)
- BEC: 5V 2amp
- Continuous current: 30A
- Burst current: 40A up to 10 Secs.
- Size: 39mm x 28mm x 7mm


MYSTERY A2208-14 1450KV Brushless:
- RPM/V : 1450KV
- No. Of cells : 5-7Ni-MH/2-3Li-Po
- Max. efficiency current:14A (>72%)
- NoLoad current :10 V 1.4 A
- Current capacity :28 A/ 60 s
- Max. efficiency :0.75
- Shaft diameter (mm): 3 mm
- Size: 27.5mm x 30mm


Props:
8 x 4.5 CCw/Cw Front and back?

Battery
?
Im looking to see what battery will give me the best performance with the spec i have listed.

Thanks guys.

UPDATE for Test Print of motor canopy mount:
I expect it to ship before stated date.
Innerbreed is offline Find More Posts by Innerbreed
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 16, 2013, 08:35 AM
Registered User
United States, TX, Arlington
Joined Jan 2013
205 Posts
I wouldn't attempt to put anything larger than 20A in the 400. I really had to cram my 20A in mine and I'm not completely satisfied with the fit. I'll probably end up redoing the wiring at some point.
In-Flight is offline Find More Posts by In-Flight
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 09:47 AM
DotCoDotUk
Innerbreed's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
153 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by In-Flight View Post
I wouldn't attempt to put anything larger than 20A in the 400. I really had to cram my 20A in mine and I'm not completely satisfied with the fit. I'll probably end up redoing the wiring at some point.
Wouldnt that have more to do with the dimensions of the ESC rather than its Ampage?
Although I understand 20a is over kill. But what sort of issues could i expect using a 30a?
Innerbreed is offline Find More Posts by Innerbreed
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:13 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
98 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innerbreed View Post
Ok i thought while i wait for my test frame to arrive i'd go over the spec im planning to use.
i have a few questions about this also as most of you are already flying these birds and are in the knowledge of what works best as im not that tuned into KV/AMPs/etc.

Frame:
400

FC
MPU6050 FLIP 1.5

TX
Eurgle 2.4Ghz 9x (3rd Gen)

ProFlight-UK 30A ESC SimonK: overkill?
Input voltage: 6 - 16.8V(2-4S LiPo)
- BEC: 5V 2amp
- Continuous current: 30A
- Burst current: 40A up to 10 Secs.
- Size: 39mm x 28mm x 7mm


MYSTERY A2208-14 1450KV Brushless:
- RPM/V : 1450KV
- No. Of cells : 5-7Ni-MH/2-3Li-Po
- Max. efficiency current:14A (>72%)
- NoLoad current :10 V 1.4 A
- Current capacity :28 A/ 60 s
- Max. efficiency :0.75
- Shaft diameter (mm): 3 mm
- Size: 27.5mm x 30mm


Props:
8 x 4.5 CCw/Cw Front and back?

Battery
?
Im looking to see what battery will give me the best performance with the spec i have listed.

Thanks guys.

UPDATE for Test Print of motor canopy mount:
I expect it to ship before stated date.
I have exactly the same configuration except FC, works great. 30A rctimer simonk esc... 2200 3s turnigy.
Check my YouTube chan : orpheegt
Orphee is offline Find More Posts by Orphee
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:21 AM
Registered User
Freakazoid's Avatar
Roosendaal, Netherlands
Joined Dec 2004
2,783 Posts
Im planning on using 10A suppo ESCs. They fit quite nicely, just avoid simonK ones.
Mine cooked up to 53'c in 30 seconds of applying a 3.5A load.
I returned all 11 of them and im hoping I can get them replaced for regular suppo 10A.

My precious Vtails are both still grounded because of those damn simonK hackjob ESCs.
Freakazoid is offline Find More Posts by Freakazoid
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:25 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,727 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakazoid View Post
Im planning on using 10A suppo ESCs. They fit quite nicely, just avoid simonK ones.
Mine cooked up to 53'c in 30 seconds of applying a 3.5A load.
I returned all 11 of them and im hoping I can get them replaced for regular suppo 10A.

My precious Vtails are both still grounded because of those damn simonK hackjob ESCs.
Please, don't shoot at SimonK
The problem is not there, probably flashed with a wrong version of not even compatible for the hardware.

SimonK ESC flashed right are awesome.

What's happening, did he sent you new one..??
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
98 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
Please, don't shoot at SimonK
The problem is not there, probably flashed with a wrong version of not even compatible for the hardware.

SimonK ESC flashed right are awesome.

What's happening, did he sent you new one..??
I agree, I flash my rctimer myself and they all works great on all my quads
Orphee is offline Find More Posts by Orphee
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:46 AM
Team Extreme! Team Twisted!
hercdriver7777's Avatar
Columbia SC
Joined Feb 2005
4,327 Posts
Hey guys, I just maidened mine. Now I am going to go outside and fly it! Have a great weekend
hercdriver7777 is offline Find More Posts by hercdriver7777
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 10:49 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,727 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hercdriver7777 View Post
Hey guys, I just maidened mine. Now I am going to go outside and fly it! Have a great weekend
HaHa...
Need to be stable in a tight space like that..
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:06 AM
Registered User
Freakazoid's Avatar
Roosendaal, Netherlands
Joined Dec 2004
2,783 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
Please, don't shoot at SimonK
The problem is not there, probably flashed with a wrong version of not even compatible for the hardware.

SimonK ESC flashed right are awesome.

What's happening, did he sent you new one..??
Im not blaming simonK, im sure that stuff is great. Just not on the suppo 10A ESCs.
I sent them all back, haven't heard anything yet, but its only been 4 days.

The difference was mindboggling though. Plain stock ones got up to 37'c, the simonK ones hit 53'c and still rising.
One of them almost lost its beans while I was trying to hover my Vtail, expecting those ESCs to stay as cool as all other suppo 10A's I had.
It was hitting 106'c before I realized something was up, it had already melted the shrinktube a little.
I already strimmed the wires for a neat build, so im not sure if hes gonna take any of them back at all.
Freakazoid is offline Find More Posts by Freakazoid
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:11 AM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,727 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakazoid View Post
Im not blaming simonK, im sure that stuff is great. Just not on the suppo 10A ESCs.
I sent them all back, haven't heard anything yet, but its only been 4 days.

The difference was mindboggling though. Plain stock ones got up to 37'c, the simonK ones hit 53'c and still rising.
One of them almost lost its beans while I was trying to hover my Vtail, expecting those ESCs to stay as cool as all other suppo 10A's I had.
It was hitting 106'c before I realized something was up, it had already melted the shrinktube a little.
I already strimmed the wires for a neat build, so im not sure if hes gonna take any of them back at all.
If he don't ... he is not a nice person ...
Do you know anyone that wire ESC on a test bench without soldering them to look if they are right "..?
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 11:45 AM
Registered User
Freakazoid's Avatar
Roosendaal, Netherlands
Joined Dec 2004
2,783 Posts
Yeah I know. And after already buying 13 normal suppo 10A ESCs that worked perfectly,
I was expecting the simonK versions just work properly out of the bag too.
One defective ESC happens, but I tested 5 and all of em were cooking up..
Even if he just gives me back 9 standard ESCs for the 11 simonK ones I returned id be ok with it,
because then I can use the two spares I still had, and finally fly my Vtails.
Still a 22 dollar loss through no fault of my own, but ill take what I can get.
Freakazoid is offline Find More Posts by Freakazoid
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:07 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Innerbreed View Post
It wouldnt fit.


Im sure a 500 may become avaliable.. see how we get on with the 400 first.

thanks
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 12:22 PM
DotCoDotUk
Innerbreed's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
153 Posts
Thanks Orphee, and ill check out your channel shortly when im home.
Feels good to be reassured, especially if someone is running the same set up.

...
Agree, the simonk firmware is good from what I have seen. I know that it can act un accordingly with different hardware. Ie turnigy plush ESCs do not react well.

Look forward to flight soon. Although I plan to maiden mine outside... in a field... a big field.
Innerbreed is offline Find More Posts by Innerbreed
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 16, 2013, 02:30 PM
DotCoDotUk
Innerbreed's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
153 Posts
Below is an image of the canopy showing the size in relation to the frame.
obviously due to variations on previous designs we chose to remove the top plate in order to achieve the current design.

I hope this will give you a better idea of how much space is inside.

For this image I have replace the top protection plate on the model so you can get a sense of scale.

The Canopy has been designed for the smaller FC boards like the FLIP FC. MPU6050
but may allow for others to fit depending on how the board is orientated, wired, etc.

I hope this doesn't compromise others with the larger MEGA MWC PR / MEGA PRO 2.0 - MPU6050 / MultiWii Crius SE / Crius AIO Pro / etc
Innerbreed is offline Find More Posts by Innerbreed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Bledi-DiaLFonZo Copter VTail HUNTER 400 CANOPY + Addons Innerbreed Multirotor Talk 42 Sep 20, 2013 09:41 PM