HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 20, 2013, 09:30 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,708 Posts
Just test the MultiWii dev version r1342 ,seems there's a bug on arming/disarming motors. There's no update codes for Vtail .
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:02 AM
Fixed Pitch addict!
hugeone22's Avatar
Christchurch New Zealand
Joined Feb 2010
108 Posts
hey Freakazoid will a KK2.0 fit in the mini? or can you only fit 35mm FC? I have been watching your build pics with great interest. I am hoping to Buy a Mini and a 400 frame.
hugeone22 is offline Find More Posts by hugeone22
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:20 AM
Registered User
Freakazoid's Avatar
Roosendaal, Netherlands
Joined Dec 2004
2,800 Posts
In the mini, unfortunately not. I think the mini can only handle 35 to 40mm boards.
It should fly pretty good on the cheap 21 dollar flip boards though, which fit pretty tight.
Tonight im gonna finish the mini and see if I can get a nice little hover out of it.

If you're not into "mcguyvering" with the solder iron, I recommend building your controller ontop and not inside though.
But if you really want to, solder the (angled!) motor headers onto the flipboard inverted, so they face inward and under the board.
Or else youll run into trouble with the vertical tail plate like I did.
Freakazoid is offline Find More Posts by Freakazoid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:26 AM
Fixed Pitch addict!
hugeone22's Avatar
Christchurch New Zealand
Joined Feb 2010
108 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freakazoid View Post
In the mini, unfortunately not. I think the mini can only handle 35 to 40mm boards.
It should fly pretty good on the cheap 21 dollar flip boards though, which fit pretty tight.
Tonight im gonna finish the mini and see if I can get a nice little hover out of it.

If you're not into "mcguyvering" with the solder iron, I recommend building your controller ontop and not inside though.
But if you really want to, solder the (angled!) motor headers onto the flipboard inverted, so they face inward and under the board.
Or else youll run into trouble with the vertical tail plate like I did.
Ok I will look to get a flip for the mini! I work in an electronics company in engineering and soldering small items is no problem for me and like you i would want a tidy build with as little wiring showing as possible.

On my tri all the wires are routed inside the Arms even the servo wires and lighting wires. The esc's and power wiring all sit neatly tucked inside the body out of sight.

Keen to see your progress with the mini (more pics of it finished please) also what is happening with your 400?
hugeone22 is offline Find More Posts by hugeone22
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 04:52 AM
Registered User
Freakazoid's Avatar
Roosendaal, Netherlands
Joined Dec 2004
2,800 Posts
Ill probably have the mini done by tonight.

The 400 ill probably have to strip and start over.
The ESCs are cooking up and power isnt anywhere near videos with quads using the same motor.
Freakazoid is offline Find More Posts by Freakazoid
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 12:13 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
VTail 500 Controller

Hey!

Is anyone familiar with the DJI NAZA Multi-Rotor Stabilization Controller??
http://www.dronesvision.com/dji-naza...on-controller/

Or should I simply pick a Multiwii instead...

Thanks in advance!

FT
FatTony is offline Find More Posts by FatTony
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 12:24 PM
"you'll play to live "
Alwayscrash's Avatar
Canada, QC, Montreal
Joined Sep 2009
1,708 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatTony View Post
Hey!

Is anyone familiar with the DJI NAZA Multi-Rotor Stabilization Controller??
http://www.dronesvision.com/dji-naza...on-controller/

Or should I simply pick a Multiwii instead...

Thanks in advance!

FT
DJ naza will not work with Vtail, choose multiwii or KK.
AC
Alwayscrash is offline Find More Posts by Alwayscrash
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:05 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
VTail 500 Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alwayscrash View Post
DJ naza will not work with Vtail, choose multiwii or KK.
AC
Thank you for your immediate response!!
I think a KK board is a good choice! (Either is Multiwii, still I can't install both)

What do you think about 4in1 ESC's, could this one work??

I'm pretty new at DIY multicopters, sorry for bothering you guys...

FT
FatTony is offline Find More Posts by FatTony
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:09 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatTony View Post
Thank you for your immediate response!!
I think a KK board is a good choice! (Either is Multiwii, still I can't install both)

What do you think about 4in1 ESC's, could this one work??

I'm pretty new at DIY multicopters, sorry for bothering you guys...

FT
I don't think a 4-1 ESC would do a clean job since the wire will go out pass the center plates.

Which size is that esc ? Normaly they have standar 45mm mounting holes.
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:28 PM
Registered User
United States, WA, Olympia
Joined Dec 2012
309 Posts
I use the kk2.0 and it flies great! I also used tech69's settings.
Pablochopper is offline Find More Posts by Pablochopper
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
I don't think a 4-1 ESC would do a clean job since the wire will go out pass the center plates.

Which size is that esc ? Normaly they have standar 45mm mounting holes.
It takes 4 x 35A , with 4 x 40 A (15sec) at max. Perfect for the 500. The input voltage is varying between 9,5 to 17,5 V, depending on which LiPo you use (3-4S). The input frequency is 480 Hz, so it should theoretically fit to both KK and Multiwii.

In diameter it's 90mm, with, as you assumed, 45x45mm standard mounting holes.
Here are some pics!

As a drawback you need a BEC.

Don't you think one could install the wiring at the outside, w/o crossing any plates? I think it could be worth a shot, since the compactness is tempting...

Thanks for the feedback!!
FT
FatTony is offline Find More Posts by FatTony
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 02:42 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatTony View Post
It takes 4 x 35A , with 4 x 40 A (15sec) at max. Perfect for the 500. The input voltage is varying between 9,5 to 17,5 V, depending on which LiPo you use (3-4S). The input frequency is 480 Hz, so it should theoretically fit to both KK and Multiwii.

In diameter it's 90mm, with, as you assumed, 45x45mm standard mounting holes.
Here are some pics!

As a drawback you need a BEC.

Don't you think one could install the wiring at the outside, w/o crossing any plates? I think it could be worth a shot, since the compactness is tempting...

Thanks for the feedback!!
FT
I had a quick look at it.
But it would not fit the inside of the frame, it will hit the standoffs.
You could mount it on top without the protection plate.
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
VTail 500 Controller

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dialfonzo View Post
I had a quick look at it.
But it would not fit the inside of the frame, it will hit the standoffs.
You could mount it on top without the protection plate.
Since my 500 came w/o the protection plate, the top-mount would actually be a choice.
But I get your point, the wires do go out at the sides. I need to think about the wiring, maybe there is a clean solution.

Speaking of clean solutions - I came across this 4-1 ESC since I couldn't imagine a clean assembly of 4 separate ESCs...

FT
FatTony is offline Find More Posts by FatTony
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:10 PM
DiaLFonZo - UAV/Drone
Dialfonzo's Avatar
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2007
6,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FatTony View Post
Since my 500 came w/o the protection plate, the top-mount would actually be a choice.
But I get your point, the wires do go out at the sides. I need to think about the wiring, maybe there is a clean solution.

Speaking of clean solutions - I came across this 4-1 ESC since I couldn't imagine a clean assembly of 4 separate ESCs...

FT
Here is one way
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=661

Not the best for cooling.

Could be mount on top as you said without the top protection plate.
(which is optional)

If you can solder all the wire going to the inside of the board rather than go out by the exterior, you could make all of them go strait in the center (reverse the board wire going down.)
Dialfonzo is offline Find More Posts by Dialfonzo
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: DiaLFonZo-Copter - Announcement
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2013, 03:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2013
8 Posts
Now THAT's tight!

Thanks!!
FatTony is offline Find More Posts by FatTony
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Bledi-DiaLFonZo Copter VTail HUNTER 400 CANOPY + Addons Innerbreed Multirotor Talk 42 Sep 20, 2013 09:41 PM