HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 23, 2012, 11:06 PM
Joined Mar 2012
5 Posts
Discussion
Newbie Introduction/Need Opinions

Hey everyone. I'm new to the whole R/C world. I've owned a bunch of Airhogs in the past but they never seemed to last more than a few hours. A few weeks ago I bought a JXD 340 Drift King. I'm extremely happy with it. After a few flights I started to get use to it. I was really surprised with how stable it was, however, I am comparing it to an Airhogs. I'm curious as to what would be considered the "best" indoor helicopter. I'm looking to stay with the size of the drift king, maybe a little bit bigger. I'm also wondering how much better a more expensive model is. I'm really looking to get deeper into the world of R/C so I'm open to all opinions. Here some pictures of my heli. Please excuse the quality and background. Took the pics on my iPhone and in my girlfriends room.
Thanks again everyone!
Hawkman13 is offline Find More Posts by Hawkman13
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2012, 12:37 AM
Cranky old fart
Germantown, WI.
Joined Oct 2007
21,346 Posts
The Drift King is the absolute bottom of the 4 channel models, basically a toy. It doesn't have a true swashplate so movement is non-granular and very limited. However, what is "best" is highly subjective. It may mean easy to fly, or very durable or wicked performance or huge performance range; range take your pick. My personal favorite is the Blade MQx quad. But any other heli, with at least 4 channels, will seriously out-perform a Drift King. Please keep in mind, the more stable a heli is, the more performance you sacrifice.
Balr14 is offline Find More Posts by Balr14
Old Mar 24, 2012, 02:04 AM
Perpetually covered in resin
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Dec 2011
555 Posts
Look into the WLtoys V911, its a fixed pitch single rotor with 45 degree flybar so it still self stabilizes. $45 shipped with decent 2.4ghz radio for the application.