HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 23, 2012, 02:22 PM
advanced n00b
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Feb 2012
976 Posts
Discussion
New to BL motors...break it in?

I'm new to RC and my dad is new to electric motors. I have the PKZ P-51D Mustang BL and my dad just got the E-Flight RV-9. we are both running the same motor, the 480kv. My question, actually my dad's coming from a nitro background. Do you need to break in a BL motor like you would i nitro or gas motor? Thanks for any help you can provide!

Peace
Dan
xfatdannx is offline Find More Posts by xfatdannx
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 23, 2012, 03:50 PM
Frequent Flyer
Orleans, MA
Joined Feb 2007
2,065 Posts
No break-in necessary. The rotor is supported by two ball bearings. Break-in was done on the early brushed motors to seat the brushes before applying full power.
whitecrest is offline Find More Posts by whitecrest
Old Mar 23, 2012, 04:22 PM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
United States, AK, Fairbanks
Joined Aug 2009
12,389 Posts
A brushless motor requires no break-in, no tuning, and essentially no maintenance. It'll turn your prop quietly, cleanly, smoothly, and efficiently. It costs virtually nothing to run it, even if you're doing fifteen flights a day.

Not a bad deal
C₄H₁₀ is offline Find More Posts by C₄H₁₀
Old Mar 27, 2012, 10:50 AM
RC plane addict ;-)
United Kingdom, England, Norwich
Joined Aug 2008
1,699 Posts
As the other two blokes has already told you that you don't need to run a brushless motor in i won't bother adding to that as there really isn't any need.

I would say though as you like the PZ warbirds (as do i) you might want to think about using a better battery than the stock PZ ones,as i've had two of the little PZ green 3s 1300mah battery that have puffed for no fault of my own,i've left them on a store charge after use and always charge them up using the right settings.