HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 23, 2012, 09:51 AM
Inherent Tinkerer
Wichita, Kansas, USA
Joined Jul 2003
1,431 Posts
Question
SolidWorks - Drawing on Different Plains?

Hi All,

I have a part in SW (2008) that I'm trying to draw additional parts on but can't figure out how to draw on different plains. I've drawn what I need on the front plain but when I try to draw on other plains it won't let me. My background is doing machine drawings by hand and, needless to say, I'm still learning CAD. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Jimmy
jtprouty is offline Find More Posts by jtprouty
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 23, 2012, 05:17 PM
not bad for one eye
atlantic canada
Joined Jun 2008
70 Posts
Could you post the file please?

Paul
dlpaul is online now Find More Posts by dlpaul
Old Mar 24, 2012, 04:40 AM
Denver, CO
Joined Dec 2005
6,384 Posts
I don't know about SolidWorks, but in many other CAD programs the features can be drawn in one plane. Then you can move them onto another axis by many means like rotation, extrusion, translation, etc. Once on the other plane many features can be used on them by referencing off that piece. Like you can draw a line connecting that piece to another, or a circle between it and, another point.
Roto Rob is online now Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Old Mar 24, 2012, 08:27 AM
Joined Feb 2006
55 Posts
Hi Jimmy,

Open a new assembly. (File/New/Assembly)
Click cancel (X) to exit the Begin Assembly Mode.
Save the new assembly with a name.
Now select Insert / Component / New Part
Select the front Plane The system creates a new part using a default name that you can rename by right clicking and selecting rename.
Create your part and save it.

Select Insert / Component / New part to create your next part. Now you can use the first parts geometry to create the next part and the next part etc.
It's called Top Down Assembly in Solidworks 2010 . I hope this helps