Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 21, 2012, 03:45 PM
United States, MI, Ann Arbor Charter Township
Joined Mar 2012
1,121 Posts
Discussion
My First FP Helicopter Walkera CB180D Crashing badly

Hello,
Just got my Walkera CB180D and have crashed it badly twice.

I'm fairly new at this however I have spent much time to become very good & comfortable with
The coaxial that I started with which is an Esky Hunter.
I'm able to fly that very nicely indoors in all directions/modes its capable of including the hardest which
was nose in.

I've also been spending a lot of time on simulators and can fly all the FP and CP helicopters on those pretty well
as well as some basic 3D.

I've spent a lot of time on the CB180 indoors hovering and making gentle flying around the room.

Now I've taken it outdoors (in no wind) to try and have some real fun twice now and have crashed it both attempts breaking off both main
blades and the tail blade.

It seems that it flys great for awhile I got around 5 minutes out of it this morning in zero wind before it went
out of control going very fast on it's side I couldn't recover it and I let off the power just before smacking the ground.
During that 5 minutes I got some really nice flying lots of turns forward flight climbed up high and brought it back down
I did notice it seeming to lose signal only about 75 feet away and 20 feet off the ground, this is very disappointing
The motor cut for a fraction of a second and I got it back under control.

The out of control event happened suddenly when I had it closer in.

What's most frustrating is that in any type of crash I've ever had before I knew exactly what I did and was able to learn from it.
In both crashes I've had so far 'it just happened' I can't place it on what I did wrong.
I'm sure I must have done something wrong but it's subtle and not making sense to me yet.