HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2012, 02:25 PM
Joined Mar 2012
9 Posts
Discussion
REAL FLITE 4.5 or PHOENIX

HI all

Im new to the hobby and want to buy a sim.
REAL FLITE 4.5 with controller for $85
or Phoenix and use my dx7 for $140

or something different...
I've played the RF 4.5 at the LHS and it seems a lot tougher than flying a real plane, how are you supposed to learn turn coordination when the plane looks like a bunch of pixlated dots far far away?

I hate to go spend the big money on the Phoenix because Im sure this will end up collecting dust like my other video games as soon as I lean to fly. Are there missions on these games or do you just sit there and fly the plane in circles and loops?

Tahnsk for any help or input
jammerz is offline Find More Posts by jammerz
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2012, 05:37 PM
3D, 1D at a time!
United States, TX, Plano
Joined Aug 2010
4,029 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jammerz View Post
HI all

Im new to the hobby and want to buy a sim.
REAL FLITE 4.5 with controller for $85
or Phoenix and use my dx7 for $140

or something different...
I've played the RF 4.5 at the LHS and it seems a lot tougher than flying a real plane, how are you supposed to learn turn coordination when the plane looks like a bunch of pixlated dots far far away?

I hate to go spend the big money on the Phoenix because Im sure this will end up collecting dust like my other video games as soon as I lean to fly. Are there missions on these games or do you just sit there and fly the plane in circles and loops?

IMO, if you are on a budget, get Phoenix, if not get Realflight 6. It has a lot better physics than 4.5. Also, flying on the sim is easier than flying in real life Also, if you turn up the graphics (or use zoom) and keep the plane closer it won't pixelate Have fun joining the hobby!
Park_aviator is online now Find More Posts by Park_aviator
Old Mar 21, 2012, 06:46 PM
United States, FL, The Villages
Joined Oct 2010