HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 20, 2012, 08:27 AM
Joined Feb 2012
16 Posts
Help!
Skartec 182 Cessna CG Help

I am relatively new to rc planes and I have been cutting my teeth on a Nine Eagles Sky runner but have now purchased a Skartec RTF 182 Cessna (980mm Wing span).

After gluing on the tail elevator and rudder wing then fitting the main wing and landing gear I have done the usual checks. I have then come to checking the center of gravity.

No where in the instruction manual is any measurements for the C.G so after some reading on the rcgroups and other websites I have come up with the measurements of 1/3rd of wing cord from leading edge for more experienced flyer and 1/4 of wing cord from leading edge for rookie.

The wing cord on my Cessna is 164mm so the measurements I got was 54mm from leading edge experienced flyer and 41mm for rookie. After marking both measurement on my plane I tried to balance with the rookie marks first and the tail dropped down fast. I then checked the 54mm mark only to have the tail fall down again.

I then moved my battery, ESC and receiver as far forward as possible (fixed with Velcro) with little results. I then started adding weight to the front of the plane to find that I needed 40grams of weight to balance at the 54mm CG point .

Question number one is ~ is my measurements for C.G correct for my plane?
Second question is ~ if my measurements are correct is this a common thing for a beginner type of plane out of the box?
Third and final question is ~ To get the CG weight right for my 41mm (rookie) position I have siliconed a 45gram lead weight into a pocket in the front cowl of the plane (see pictures). Is this a good move or should I remove the weight and adjust weight in another method.

Thanks....Mark
West Oz Mark is offline Find More Posts by West Oz Mark
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 20, 2012, 11:50 AM
222 km/hr Parkjet flyer
Latvia / UK visits
Joined Jan 2010
8,335 Posts