HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 18, 2012, 10:55 AM
Joined Mar 2012
16 Posts
Question
Need advice on purchasing my first quad please.

Hi guys,

I hope this is not a duplicated thread and apologies if it is. I'm new to the group

I spent the morning reading an old thread started by theVenerable (TV) when he was new to quads and you guys were awesome and helped him out no end. Well things seem to be moving very quickly in the world of QuadCopters from what I've been reading and I guess a lot has changed in 6 months or so.

Anyway. To get to the point. I have some experience flying micro helis and have a Horizon Hobby Blade MSR which I can fly OK. Took some learning though as it is a main rotor, tail rotor flybar combo and not in any way as simple to fly as those counter rotating toys. Anyway. I also shoot video and would like a quad to play around with shooting aerial stuff.

I first looked at getting a Blade MQX with a keychain camera but then I saw the Quad Pod which looks a whole lot less of a toy with it's brushless motors and ESCs etc.

Basically I want something that will carry a decent payload. Enough to lift a GoPro HD Hero 2 camera which I believe is about 170g, maybe a bit more with a mount.

So the Quad Pod is one option for me however I am not all that scared of building one using parts and an off the shelf frame as I have some soldering skills and I have a budget that can stretch to around 200.

I already own a Spektrum DX6i Transmitter and and AR6210 DSMX receiver (both 6 channel if you're not familiar with the make) so that saves me having to spend about 120 of my budget on RC gear.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I have information overload right now and you guys might just be able to guide me in the right direction.