10 Posts
Discussion
Hobby King FPV/UAV V2 or EPP FPV?

Hey guys,

I am debating between:

Hobby King FPV/UAV

or

EPP FPV

I want to know what people think about these two planes and what I should go with. I am fairly new to the FPV world but have been flying for a few years now.

Just wondering what you guys think!
onboardtherc is offline Find More Posts by onboardtherc
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 15, 2012, 01:33 AM
fly by night
Joined Sep 2011
5,768 Posts
the fiberglass one is fast, has a higher stall speed, and needs a clean smooth runway to operate off of. Not forgiving for landing unless you did some serious modifications making it possible to belly land. Also a lot more prone to damage in a crash.

The EPP FPV is slow, sluggish and handles a bit odd. Can haul a lot of equipment and is a great platform for certain uses. Can find some good mods to improve it in the big thread on here. I have one and I am mothballing it in favour of a flying wing for the wider flying envelope - not different enough from my Easystar to keep it around.
BCSaltchucker is offline Find More Posts by BCSaltchucker
Last edited by BCSaltchucker; Mar 15, 2012 at 01:39 AM.
Old Mar 15, 2012, 08:27 AM
Joined Mar 2010
528 Posts
i got the epp fpv because its epp foam which can bend to crazy angles and you can just glue and tape it back together if you crash.

there are mods you can do to improve flight charicteristics. you can search the epp fpv thread for more info.
fpvguy is offline Find More Posts by fpvguy
Old Mar 15, 2012, 11:04 AM
Halifax NS Canada
Joined Apr 2009
1,486 Posts
I love EPP it is great for field repairs hot glue tape never have to go home. The EPP FPV is different some guys don't like but if you add stability to it or do some mods like dyheadral she can be a very nice plane. I chose to go with electronic stab on mine. For AP/AV I like the point that she is neutral sable because the electronic then do not have to over come aerodynamic stability.