Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 14, 2012, 03:01 AM
Joined Mar 2012
129 Posts
Help!
NEW to this stuff...bought a HPI RS4 MT...

hello everyone!

Im pretty new to RC stuff. I recently bought a HPI RS4 MT from a local sale. It looks pretty new and pretty good condition for a 10+ year old car. It did not come with a battery. I need to know what kind of battery/charger should I buy for it? I've been looking around and I almost ordered a 7.4v 4000mah 2s 35c lipo...but then I ead somewhere the stock ESC might not be able to handle a lipo...can someone suggest what kind of battery should i get if i wanted it to perform really well!

Its all stock BTW. I know its discontinued and its very hard to find parts for it. I'm just trying this stuff out to see if this is my new thing!

I would really appreciate any kind of help or comments etc. thanks.
jsarwar469 is offline Find More Posts by jsarwar469
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 14, 2012, 12:32 PM
Joined Mar 2012
129 Posts
anyone?
Old Mar 14, 2012, 01:41 PM
uk
Joined Nov 2010
412 Posts
You need to use a lvc or lvd for lipo and this esc
traxx de maxx is offline Find More Posts by traxx de maxx
Last edited by traxx de maxx; Mar 14, 2012 at 02:02 PM.
Old Mar 14, 2012, 02:01 PM
uk
Joined Nov 2010
412 Posts
manual
If it can run a six cell NiCAD it can run a 2s lipo, voltage is voltage.
The motor pulls what power is needed from the battery. If you put a bigger motor in then it will damage the esc.
Old Mar 14, 2012, 09:21 PM
Joined Mar 2012
129 Posts
sweet I just ordered a turnigy 7.4 2s battery and a turnigy charger as well. lets hole everything works out!

i was thinking about putting a brushless system in but i dont think the stock design will handle it....and it looks like its super hard to find any parts for it.
Old Mar 15, 2012, 06:20 AM
Joined Mar 2012
129 Posts
I just found out I have the Tekin Rebel speed control with reverse...not the rebel 2.