HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 13, 2012, 09:23 PM
United States, NY, Saugerties
Joined Jun 2005
91 Posts
Question
Looking for some performance suggestions for my Y-6

I'm pretty new to multirotors though I've been flying planes and helis for quite a long time. I started off with an F450 and WK-M about a month ago on Turnigy 2215j motors (900kV / 200watts / 3s) .

Last week I drew up and machined my own frame plates for a Y-6 design and built it with 2215j motors, 30Amp Plush controllers and enough space on the battery tray for 2 4500 3s/4s packs. It's 850mm between motor centers and is 1.9kg without the battery, closer to 2.25kg with 1, 2.6kg with 2. The motors tested on my stand at about 850-900g thrust with 6 I get about 5.1-5.4kg of maximum thrust.

It flies very smooth and reliably. The test video I shot (below) was the first real flight, since then I've managed about 5 more and I'm really cranking it around and it's just does these great smooth sweeping turns and passes for about 6 minutes on 1 4500 3s pack, but I can't help but think with the camera (Sony handheld or GoPro) and FPV setup I'll be coming in under powered.

I've looking into lightening but have no real good solutions. I can lighten up the 130g booms by drilling them out, but that will only reduce the overall weight by 90g (I made a 4th boom and tested this, drilling drops about 30g per boom). I could switch to carbon but would only save 150g of weight (which while not miniscule, is not a game changer). The frame material is 1.5mm non-plated FR4 which seems about just right for this design. Basically, I don't see a lot of weight savings to be had.

Would anyone mind taking a look at my videos below and helping provide some direction. Is 2:1 a good power ratio for AP/FPV combined? I'm thinking the most cost effective step is to move to larger motors in the 300-350 watt range but I'm not sure which ones would be in my price range. ($20-$30/motor absolute max)