HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Oct 19, 2003, 06:09 PM
Now in TN!
Chapel Hill, TN USA
Joined Apr 2001
24,347 Posts
How I Finish My Planes- Step By Step

A few guys here on the Zone have requested that I do a thread on how I finish my planes, so here it is. But first you have to let me get on my soapbox and do a little explaining.
I've been modeling for over 40 yrs, by no means a master, but I do it to satisfy myself. I'm a packrat and collector. I probably have over 1,000 model mags and 400-500 hardback books, mostly about aircraft. Sadly, many of them are in storage now due to space restrictions. I look forward to retirement when I'll have everything together. I've been obsessed with airplanes since I was very young.
My methods come from all the past experiences and some I've learned from others. I do not claim heir to any of these and if I'm using anything that someone else invented, then they have my apology.
My planes are are not Scale Masters quality but made to look really good at about 2' away. A magnifying glass will show mistakes and shortcuts. But if I walk by them, I always look and think, " Man, that's a pretty plane". I hope some of you will read this and it will help you improve your finishing methods.
Feel free at any time to jump right in with suggestions or ask questions. I'm always looking for better methods. I hope to learn more here also.
So, the plane I'll be finishing is the JK Aerotech Mig-3. This is a combat foamie that I like to lighten up and fly elec. This is my 4th in their series and they all fly just great.
I've already done a thread on how I lighten them so I'll start at the point where I start to paint, detail, and finish for the maiden.
This thread will take awhile but I'll try to add to it each day. I'll also have pics of tools and materials I use. Most of these you can find locally. I live in the middle of nowhere and have to make do with what I can find, otherwise it's a week to get materials.