HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 10, 2012, 11:46 PM
Romeo, MI
Joined Jul 2003
150 Posts
Question
Help...Anyone ever rewind an E-flite 450 motor before?

Hi,

One of my friends gave me an old E-flite 450 motor that no longer works. I like the way the motor performed when it worked. So I was hoping to rewind the motor with the same size wire, the same amount of winds, and the same configuration. Only problem is...I've never done anything like this before. I've found ALLOT of information on rewinding all kinds of motors, all different ways. But I haven't been able to locate any information specifically on the E-flite 450 motor. Such as disassembly, wire size, number of windings, wiring configuration, etc.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Mark
3D Romeo is offline Find More Posts by 3D Romeo
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 11, 2012, 11:39 AM
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Jan 2007
5,248 Posts
Possible? Probably.
Easy? Not at all. The thing is a major glued together mess Getting it apart is nothing shy of awful.
I certainly wouldn't start with that motor.
flydiver is offline Find More Posts by flydiver
Last edited by flydiver; Mar 11, 2012 at 01:14 PM.
Old Mar 11, 2012, 12:22 PM
Romeo, MI
Joined Jul 2003
150 Posts
Thanks for the reply flydiver.

I read in allot of threads about the gluey mess, better known as E-flite motors. But I knew about this before starting this thread. Am I looking forward to dealing with it...No...But it's something I'll have to deal with if I'm going to attempt rewinding it. As for "starting with", I don't plan on getting into winding my own motors. I just want to see if I can bring this one little motor back to life (the closet to it's original configuration if possible). So in that it's true that it will be my "starting" point. Unless I get another bad motor it will also be my "ending" point. Just something to play around with in between working on airplanes.