HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 10, 2012, 03:50 PM
St Clair Shores, Michigan
Joined Jan 2008
84 Posts
Discussion
Request good airfoil for slowflying rubber powered Peanuts

I cannot discuss this intelligently, I am not an engineer. (and I am more or less a newbie at all of this)

Anybody have a real favorite? - I am looking for realistic, slow flight for Peanut scale models that do nothing but fly beautifully as they go up and come down. Thats my flight envelope. Indoors or out.

There must be links... and if there are links like "flight 101" or suggestions to move this to another forum, that would be welcome also.

I dont mind building a testbed model and several wings...

thanks!

Ray
Dinser is offline Find More Posts by Dinser
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 11, 2012, 12:53 AM
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
11,524 Posts
For P-Nuts and other small rubber models the simple flat plate or slightly curved flat plate is fine. The Reynolds numbers are low enough that it's all they need. However it's tough to make a wing with leading and trailing edge and spar and keep it a flat plate. So we generally see thin flat bottom style airfoils used for the majority of these models. And truth be told they work just fine. For example a 3 inch chord works well with a simple flat bottom airfoil of between 3/16 and 1/4 inch of thickness.

And keep in mind that the simple structure of this style of model produces very odd airfoils between the ribs and spars where the tissue stretchs flat for the most part. In some cases you can end up with an airfoil of a triangular shape between the ribs due to the tissue sag instead of the more arched normal shape. But even with that the models are so light that they work just fine.
BMatthews is offline Find More Posts by BMatthews
Old Mar 11, 2012, 07:26 PM
Joined Jan 2008
84 Posts
Thank you for your reply