Old Mar 10, 2012, 02:31 PM
Oslo, Norway
Joined Jan 2011
242 Posts
Discussion
Yet Another Newbie 5.8GHz Setup - A Catalog of Statics

About this thread

Last update of this post: April 27, 2012

There are two types of thread which I find especially useful when looking for information: those which focus on a particular element of the setup (Video TX, OSD, Telemetry, RC link, antennas, ...) and those which discuss a complete setup, how the elements were selected and how it is put together. This thread is meant to be of the second kind.

I am very new to FPV so I'll ask questions and report on progress here. I'll try to keep an index of important findings and discussion in this first post in order to try and make it useful for others.

Note: Do not hesitate to post anything you like in the thread (remarks, questions, suggestions, comparison with your setup, ...), it is not meant to be a monologue!

Current Status: Trying to make a light FPV POD

My setup seems to work great in a 500m radius (I have not really tested beyond that). Still a lot of testing and tweaking to do but it starts to work. I am currently trying to see how light I can get the pod to be able to put it on small planes. Not really looking at long range for the moment.

Video of my very first FPV Flight: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...5#post21227784

Have a look at the latest posts to see what we are discussing (I try to keep this first post up to date but there is a delay :-)

Thread index and useful links

Do not hesitate to suggest things I should put up here.

FPV Flights Videos

Cheers,

Franck
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Original First Post: My newbie 5.8Mhz FPV setup needs help

Hello!

I have been planning to attempt flying FPV for a while, I have read quite a lot about different options, antennas, etc...