Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 23, 2012, 05:50 AM
Registered User
Germany
Joined Jun 2012
166 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluescrn View Post
I'm an experienced game developer - maybe there's something I could help out with on the UI/graphical side of things? Mostly a matter of finding time...
You could program an integrated 3D Helicopter Flight Simulator Trainer for the PhracturedBlue's Deviation Firmware
gektor is offline Find More Posts by gektor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 23, 2012, 09:19 AM
...muy bien...
rcgchris's Avatar
Germany, BW, Pforzheim
Joined Jul 2012
186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gektor View Post
You could program an integrated 3D Helicopter Flight Simulator Trainer for the PhracturedBlue's Deviation Firmware
You are getting ridiculous. Anyway
rcgchris is offline Find More Posts by rcgchris
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 10:01 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,765 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gektor View Post
You could program an integrated 3D Helicopter Flight Simulator Trainer for the PhracturedBlue's Deviation Firmware
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcgchris View Post
You are getting ridiculous. Anyway
Ok making another Flight sim would be silly idea.
However maybe usb port could be made to show its self to windows as a hid joystick.
Using only a usb lead.
SadSack is online now Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 10:26 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2010
185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
Ok making another Flight sim would be silly idea.
However maybe usb port could be made to show its self to windows as a hid joystick.
Using only a usb lead.
This would solve the unsigned PPJoy driver issue on Vista/7 x64.
wuselfuzz is offline Find More Posts by wuselfuzz
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
Ok making another Flight sim would be silly idea.
However maybe usb port could be made to show its self to windows as a hid joystick.
Using only a usb lead.
That is probably possible, but not exactly high on my priority list.
PhracturedBlue is offline Find More Posts by PhracturedBlue
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:36 AM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,765 Posts
Yup , I could only guess.
Would like to see whats on priority or just after them list
SadSack is online now Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
17 Posts
Jtag

Okay, so I found some high res pictures of the 8 PC board.

Has anyone tried connecting JTAG to the PC board? It looks like there's a nice header with some of the pins, but not all of them, and a quick analysis of the pictures seems to show that the rest of the pins (TDI, TDO, etc) are not connected to the MCU.

It looks like STLink would work off of the header. Has anyone tried that?
webbbn is offline Find More Posts by webbbn
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 11:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webbbn View Post
Okay, so I found some high res pictures of the 8 PC board.

Has anyone tried connecting JTAG to the PC board? It looks like there's a nice header with some of the pins, but not all of them, and a quick analysis of the pictures seems to show that the rest of the pins (TDI, TDO, etc) are not connected to the MCU.

It looks like STLink would work off of the header. Has anyone tried that?
Yes this was all done back in April, and you can use an STLink with it, but it doesn't help as much as you would think. I've basically stopped trying to work with it that way. It is just too frustrating to deal with.
PhracturedBlue is offline Find More Posts by PhracturedBlue
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 12:09 PM
Registered User
Germany
Joined Jun 2012
166 Posts
My humour

I believe, not all of you understood my Joke. I meant this (tis picture is a Photoshop Fake made to illustrate my Joke, OK?):



That's why I said: "integrated". Because it's built in the Transmitter!

All clear out there?
gektor is offline Find More Posts by gektor
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 12:13 PM
<Marty>
United States, KY, Springfield
Joined Jul 2011
1,761 Posts
lol...
magic_marty is offline Find More Posts by magic_marty
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 12:18 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhracturedBlue View Post
Yes this was all done back in April, and you can use an STLink with it, but it doesn't help as much as you would think. I've basically stopped trying to work with it that way. It is just too frustrating to deal with.
Was the frustration specific to the Devo, or just general frustration with STLink debugging? I"m just wanting to know if it can be used to:

a) Backup the original firmware
b) Install an alternate bootloader
c) Restore the firmware.
webbbn is offline Find More Posts by webbbn
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 12:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by webbbn View Post
Was the frustration specific to the Devo, or just general frustration with STLink debugging?
both actually
Quote:
I"m just wanting to know if it can be used to:

a) Backup the original firmware
No
Quote:
b) Install an alternate bootloader
Yes, but you can't download the original bootloader this way
Quote:
c) Restore the firmware.
Not this way

The STM32 in the Devo has the protection bits enabled which means you cannot do anything with the debug port until you perform a bulk-flash-erase. Once you've done that, you can use the debug port normally to load new firmware and bootloader but because of the architecture of the DEVO8, it requires high-effort to use the debug port to debug code. It is doable, just not worh it in my experience.

I'm not sure why you want to do any of this for a Devo8. We already went through the hard parts of enabling access to all hardware and building custom firmwares that can be loaded with Walkera's tools. The only real value of the debug port at this point is to debug a new firmware, and as I said, it is very rarely worth the effort to use this method.
PhracturedBlue is offline Find More Posts by PhracturedBlue
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 01:01 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhracturedBlue View Post
That is probably possible, but not exactly high on my priority list.
Actually I think this is a fantastic idea, especially since my almighty dongle broke...
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 01:05 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2012
682 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SadSack View Post
Yup , I could only guess.
Would like to see whats on priority or just after them list
Here you go:
Before releasing the 1st alpha that can be loaded onto the Tx, I want to release the emulator so we can get feedback and hopefully more testing on it. Since things seem to be coming along nicely now, I thought I'd start a list of tasks that need to be completed before releasing the 1st version.

Before releasing the emulator:
* Wait for all switches to be in safe-state before enabling radio
* Save state such that transmitter starts on the last-used model
* Finish implementing timers
* Implement swash settings
* Allow main page to be configurable
* Finish implement menuing
* hook up the trims
* Get a few bigger fonts
* Replace icons

There is a bunch of additional work needed before releasing the 1st alpha that can go on the Tx:
* Implement a channel-selection scheme
* Verify channel mappings on each Rx
* Enable changing the transmit power
* Ensure transmit reliability
* Do Range checks
PhracturedBlue is offline Find More Posts by PhracturedBlue
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2012, 01:19 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhracturedBlue View Post
Here you go:
Before releasing the 1st alpha that can be loaded onto the Tx, I want to release the emulator so we can get feedback and hopefully more testing on it. Since things seem to be coming along nicely now, I thought I'd start a list of tasks that need to be completed before releasing the 1st version.

Before releasing the emulator:
* Wait for all switches to be in safe-state before enabling radio
* Save state such that transmitter starts on the last-used model
* Finish implementing timers
* Implement swash settings
* Allow main page to be configurable
* Finish implement menuing
* hook up the trims
* Get a few bigger fonts
* Replace icons

There is a bunch of additional work needed before releasing the 1st alpha that can go on the Tx:
* Implement a channel-selection scheme
* Verify channel mappings on each Rx
* Enable changing the transmit power
* Ensure transmit reliability
* Do Range checks
Is the hardware maxed out at 100mw output? Or can it be told to output a little higher? Even if it's say... 120mw :P
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Broken Walkera Devo and Spektrum tx itsmillertime Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 20, 2012 04:37 AM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 06, 2011 12:33 PM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 05, 2011 11:38 AM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz Radios 2 May 08, 2011 11:38 PM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz XHeli 0 May 05, 2011 11:19 PM