HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 13, 2012, 01:45 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Bristol
Joined Aug 2008
1,758 Posts
so whats the ETA on Doom and what frame rate you getting so far?
SadSack is offline Find More Posts by SadSack
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 13, 2012, 01:51 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorCalMatCat View Post
It would seem straight black is the transparency bit?
Yes it is, but I think it doesn't use transparency for all pictures...

I made a very simple DEVO 8 v0.0.5 library for increased visibility with the previous version of rcH4x0r's lib tool:
http://rc.fdr.hu/devo.php#cust_lib

I dismissed the fancy backgrounds too...
FDR_ is offline Find More Posts by FDR_
Last edited by FDR_; Jul 11, 2012 at 09:57 AM. Reason: corrected link
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 02:01 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,611 Posts
Well I discovered if you have straight black on a background (like the boot sequence) it will mess up rendering of transparent images ontop, I.E. it messes up rendering the bind animation ontop of black, seems like a basic bit antilogarithm being used to do alpha, reminds me of doing the old transparency trick back in the old VB days!
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:17 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
118 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDR_ View Post
Something went wrong with the strings!
The tool replaces the special characters like "!", "%" or "" with some mess...
Eh? Where? I know the Chinese chars are messed up in the String view....

The RTF files have to be decoded as UTF7 (Euro) and Big endian Unicode (Chinese)

I will be away for a couple of days, I can look at bugs over the weekend

Hopefully my Devo8S will arrive next week and I can spend some time figuring out the HW. Thanks for all the pics
rcH4x0r is offline Find More Posts by rcH4x0r
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:36 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcH4x0r View Post
Eh? Where? I know the Chinese chars are messed up in the String view....

The RTF files have to be decoded as UTF7 (Euro) and Big endian Unicode (Chinese)

I will be away for a couple of days, I can look at bugs over the weekend

Hopefully my Devo8S will arrive next week and I can spend some time figuring out the HW. Thanks for all the pics
Do you remember in my first version of hacked library I complained, that the exclamation at the end of the "Saving, please wait!" message went wrong?
I did't payed too much attention to it, because it was a single edit, but your tool seems to refresh all the strings, so it happens in more places.
Somehow the UTF-7 conversion goes wrong and from a single exclamation mark it makes "+ACE-"

I will be out from thursday to sunday too, so next week...
FDR_ is offline Find More Posts by FDR_
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
118 Posts
Is this happening in the app itself or when you open the file in a text editor?

If you don't tell the text editor to use UTF-7 then you will get +ACE- (this happens if I open it in notepad / wordpad). I use Word and it prompts me to select the encoding
rcH4x0r is offline Find More Posts by rcH4x0r
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 03:58 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcH4x0r View Post
Is this happening in the app itself or when you open the file in a text editor?

If you don't tell the text editor to use UTF-7 then you will get +ACE- (this happens if I open it in notepad / wordpad). I use Word and it prompts me to select the encoding
After saving with the app, it will be wrong in the hex editor and in the tx too...
FDR_ is offline Find More Posts by FDR_
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
118 Posts
Working fine here when edited using Word.

Which editor are you using to modify the strings? Have you told the editor the file is encoded using UTF-7?
rcH4x0r is offline Find More Posts by rcH4x0r
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:12 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2011
655 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcH4x0r View Post
Working fine here when edited using Word.

Which editor are you using to modify the strings? Have you told the editor the file is encoded using UTF-7?
No, I haven't even touched the strings! I just replaced bitmaps...
But after the tool saves the DFU file these characters will be messed up.
FDR_ is offline Find More Posts by FDR_
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:20 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
118 Posts
Ah, ok, I understand. Working on 0.2B :s

Edit: Meh, something horrible going on with the string encoding, I will look in more detail at the weekend. For now you can us ethe tool to change bitmaps and export strings for different languages
rcH4x0r is offline Find More Posts by rcH4x0r
Last edited by rcH4x0r; Mar 13, 2012 at 04:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:46 PM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,041 Posts
I guess here is as good of a place as any to ask this question since most of you know the inner workings of this these things.

I have a Devo12, I was wondering if anyone has found a PPM out by chance on the compatible receivers? If not I'm going to be hacking with a FrSky module, anyone know the pinouts on where to hook up the +,-,and PPM?

Thanks!
Andy
Sid3ways is offline Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 04:50 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid3ways View Post
I guess here is as good of a place as any to ask this question since most of you know the inner workings of this these things.

I have a Devo12, I was wondering if anyone has found a PPM out by chance on the compatible receivers? If not I'm going to be hacking with a FrSky module, anyone know the pinouts on where to hook up the +,-,and PPM?

Thanks!
Andy
The RX's have no PPM method, the only PPM stream you can get is from the DST port.
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 05:46 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
127 Posts
DEVO 6 TX Antenna COAX?

The original antenna on the DEVO 6 TX is coax stripped to 32mm. If you want to increase your transmission range to be compatible with the DEVO 8 and DEVO 12 you may want to replace it with a 2dBi antenna. See pics.

If anyone needs more pics or a parts list let me know.

Hack away.
derek4610 is offline Find More Posts by derek4610
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 07:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
127 Posts
My new background DEVO 6

Just one of my new backgrounds.
derek4610 is offline Find More Posts by derek4610
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2012, 07:45 PM
Better then Sliced Bread!
NorCalMatCat's Avatar
United States, CA, Arcata
Joined Oct 2011
2,611 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by derek4610 View Post
Just one of my new backgrounds.
The perfect thing to have on your radio and look at while flying a heli
NorCalMatCat is offline Find More Posts by NorCalMatCat
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Let'sFPV UBEC 1 WEEK SALE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Broken Walkera Devo and Spektrum tx itsmillertime Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 20, 2012 04:37 AM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 06, 2011 12:33 PM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 05, 2011 11:38 AM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz Radios 2 May 08, 2011 11:38 PM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz XHeli 0 May 05, 2011 11:19 PM