SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 09, 2012, 01:01 PM
United States, CA, Orange County
Joined Sep 2005
528 Posts
Discussion
Orange County CA - Electric TD / ALES Fields

Like many I find myself time and distance/fuel price limited.

Are there any places in Orange County (okay now I am getting picky...southern OC) where its okay to fly thermal motorgliders without being illegal and or harrassed? For general flying as well as TD/ALES events?

Doesn't have to be huge (i.e. no winches or histarts to bother with).

If not, and others are interested in this type of thing; I have zero experience in such matters but I am up for banding together to find a site, approaching powers that be, forming a club etc to make it happen.
rvsixer is offline Find More Posts by rvsixer
Last edited by rvsixer; Mar 09, 2012 at 01:16 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 20, 2012, 04:38 PM
Joined Sep 2005
528 Posts
No other Orange County thermal flyers out there? Moving to ALES forum....
Old Mar 20, 2012, 06:50 PM
Aloft Hobbies
United States, CA, Novato
Joined Sep 2003
5,767 Posts
I usually fly mine at the local park. We have done all sorts of flying from our park with no issues. We treat everyone well, and they treat us well in return. We have used histarts, flown electrics up to 3 meters, and even the occasional combat wing (quiet ones). We try and limit the planes to the quiet stuff.

Can't say we have a dedicated thermal field I know of in So OC though. I like Oakley Hill for thermal gliders, not electrics. We have very few sanctioned fields at all. You can fly with the gas guys, but that isn't much fun.

I guess for me, the question is why not fly pure glider? We have lots of great slopes!

-Wayne
Rotozuk is offline Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: FrSky in Chicago!
Old Mar 20, 2012, 08:30 PM
Gasbags & Gussets
Riverside, Ca
Joined Feb 2009
1,217 Posts
Fairview park in costa mesa

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvsixer View Post