HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 07, 2012, 08:08 PM
Canada, ON, Quinte West
Joined Feb 2009
910 Posts
Question
Vintage Deep Vee Help

Hi All,
I don't normally venture in here but i just picked up an old deep Vee from a buddy with a .46 Nitro in it, I would like to know how comparable this is to a 25cc gas engine? I have no knowledge of Nitro's and have no idea what this old girl is gonna do for me. I have to replace the bearings and gaskets and then re-build it so there will be quite a while before I get any running pics.
but here is a few pics before the clean up process...

Cheers
G-O
Guard-Officer is offline Find More Posts by Guard-Officer
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 08, 2012, 10:54 AM
"Unnecessary Necessity"
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Sep 2006
5,759 Posts
Look like the old Dumas DV-40, what kind of .46 glow engine is in it? Doesn't seem to have used a tuned exhaust and the hull is probably heavy(if Dumas)so it will move around but nothing impressive speed wise. Can see its set-up for submerged drive, did the strudder cames with it?
coriolan is offline Find More Posts by coriolan
Old Mar 08, 2012, 11:29 PM
Joined Dec 2007
1,310 Posts
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbycity/s...HP_1_54kw.html

Spec.
Displacement: 15cc
Weight: 825g (Including ignition and muffler)
Carburettor: Walbro type
Prop Speed: 1500 ~ 9800rpm
Max power: 2.1hp / 1.54kw
Ignition: DC-CDI (computer controlled auto advance electric ignition system)
Power Supply: 4.8-6v
Lubrication oil: 2 cycle engine oil
Mixture: 25:1 to 40:1
Bore/Stroke: 31mm x 26mm

10+ $

Amp Abuser is online now Find More Posts by Amp Abuser
Last edited by Amp Abuser; Mar 08, 2012 at 11:34 PM.
Old Mar 09, 2012, 01:04 AM
United States, CA, Orange County
Joined Aug 2011
2,031 Posts
Looks more like a SKEE-DADDLE 40, which was more like a ski boat, with a vee bottom. Most Deep Vees, have a hull ratio of 3.5-4 to one, length to beam. Ie, a long hull. The two will handle different. CB