Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Mar 05, 2012, 06:01 AM
Joined Mar 2007
1,012 Posts
Discussion
Sewn hinges

I'm planning on using sewn hinges to secure the rudder and elevator on my latest model .... BUT, I've never used this technique before.

So, are there any good tips that you can give me, or pitfalls to beware?

I may consider using strap hinges, 'cos they look nice. Still, it won't harm to learn about the sewn hinge.

FYI, the project is an Edwardian-style light aircraft ... a bit Blackburn-like. Span is about 80", with power supplied by a Saito .45. The model will be 3-channel, covered in doped nylon. Lots of wires. Calm evenings and early mornings will be its natural habitat.

The slightly unusual aspect is that I have set myself the task of using NO balsa in the construction; and the minimum of off-the-shelf components.

Most of the materials have been rescued from a skip, up the road. They were building a house and chucked out oodles of nice pine skirting boards. Besides this pine, I have so far used a little thin ply, some hardwood scrap and some steel from a biscuit-tin.

You know what? ... it's looking pretty good, too. I have the basic fuselage framed up, along with the tailplane. Wing ribs and spars are fabricated. The undercarriage still requires a good dose of thinking about.
bogbeagle is offline Find More Posts by bogbeagle
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 05, 2012, 10:32 AM
Sticks, Tissue & old Diesels
France, Centre, Amboise
Joined Nov 2011
1,476 Posts
Hi,
I've used sewn hinges, and other types, for years, mostly on vintage control liners. Firstly, the obvious things like you need the right thread. The best I've found is the old Keil Kraft dacron lines, included in, and sold for, their beginners' C/L kits (Champ, etc.).