HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 15, 2012, 02:04 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,185 Posts
Chopper shots: Mine z15 does never stop in perfect center position (dont know why)
I have to adjust it with my remote to get it in center.

And every time I pan around, the ROLL axis move one way or the other.
This is very annoying, have asked here 2-3 times now if anybody else have the same issue, but no reply so far about this !

I have to ask DJI if there will be any SW update on the zen soon.
If not maybe my radio is the problem ?
liteglow is offline Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 15, 2012, 02:13 PM
Registered User
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Oct 2005
401 Posts
liteglow

I have to manually center my Z15 everytime I fire it up. I currently don't use the pan much (I just pan the hex) so I can't comment on holding the roll axis. I am assuming the adjustment in the software assistant were for fine tuning the centering but as I posted earlier my Z15 goes crazy when I hook up the usb.
Blue Collar is online now Find More Posts by Blue Collar
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Joined May 2005
1,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Collar View Post
liteglow

I have to manually center my Z15 everytime I fire it up. I currently don't use the pan much (I just pan the hex) so I can't comment on holding the roll axis. I am assuming the adjustment in the software assistant were for fine tuning the centering but as I posted earlier my Z15 goes crazy when I hook up the usb.
where in the software can you adjust the z15 ??
liteglow is offline Find More Posts by liteglow
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 04:53 PM
Registered User
United States, NE, Omaha
Joined Oct 2005
401 Posts
I thought the sliders in the assistant software were for centering the gimbal but after looking at the software that doesn't seem to be the case (I really don't see the point of the software assistant as it is now). I haven't had a chance to use the software assistant yet because when I hook my Zenmuse up to the computer the thing starts spinning at a high rate of speed in all axis, has anyone else had this issue?
Blue Collar is online now Find More Posts by Blue Collar
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 06:47 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2008
129 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DorianJ View Post
This is why there should be a dampening adjustment in code. Expo and a good cam operator aren't enough. Pro jibs and remote heads have a dampening adjustment, it's mandatory.
I agree with this. In the professional world it's called "ramping." Expo isn't enough. Expo doesn't account for the stops.
blbills is offline Find More Posts by blbills
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 08:22 PM
Registered User
rruiz's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
404 Posts
Besides all the S800 issues, I just ordered my Nex7 24mm lenses... it is available at B&H at...
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...&li=4CB9511E46

Regards

Roberto
rruiz is offline Find More Posts by rruiz
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 09:17 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
109 Posts
Stupid question probably, BUT:

What would be the best solution to have a screen for the director to see the scene of the zenmuse?
Volandos is offline Find More Posts by Volandos
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 09:54 PM
DJI Support
Las Vegas/Lake Tahoe
Joined Feb 2010
9,912 Posts
Why can you not share your video down link? Mine is on a diversity receiver with 4 video outs. Hook up an LCD or a laptop.
Tahoe Ed is offline Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Landing Gear Reset S800
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 11:11 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
Chopper shots: Mine z15 does never stop in perfect center position (dont know why)
I have to adjust it with my remote to get it in center.

And every time I pan around, the ROLL axis move one way or the other.
This is very annoying, have asked here 2-3 times now if anybody else have the same issue, but no reply so far about this !

I have to ask DJI if there will be any SW update on the zen soon.
If not maybe my radio is the problem ?
It's normal for 5 degree offset.

Did you check the input of PAN and ROLL in assistant software? Are they response correctly?
paul.guo is offline Find More Posts by paul.guo
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2012, 11:12 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Jul 2012
11 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volandos View Post
Stupid question probably, BUT:

What would be the best solution to have a screen for the director to see the scene of the zenmuse?
Ruling!! haha
paul.guo is offline Find More Posts by paul.guo
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 02:35 AM
Photographer in Stockholm
Raggarn's Avatar
Joined Sep 2012
23 Posts
@liteglow
I use to have the same problem.
Ensure that the IMU is level with the horizon during startup.
I put a spirit level on the Imu.
Raggarn is offline Find More Posts by Raggarn
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 05:08 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
190 Posts
Where were you flying in cold weather? Were there some steel structures?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chopper Shots View Post
Had my first shoot in cold weather, 25 degrees in am and the high was about 45. Wind was blowing around 12mph.

Never had any issues with the Zen until this cold weather. Initiated everything, and the roll would only tilt in one direction, nothing in the other direction. Had to wait about 10 minutes and then it would start to work correctly but still not perfect.

The second issue I had was the when panning, the roll would continually be off. As I would pan, the roll would would tilt drastically. It did not matter which direction you were panning.

The third issue, it never centered correctly after initializing.

Even after all these issues, it still performed and we got the video.

Thinking I was going to have to send this in for a service, today it is 80 degrees, so I fired it up. Not a single, freaken issue. Centered correctly, roll was perfect and the roll/pan is fine.

Has anyone else used theirs in cold weather and had any similar issues, or am I the lone wolf.
miza is offline Find More Posts by miza
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 07:57 AM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2011
63 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by miza View Post
Where were you flying in cold weather? Were there some steel structures?
I was flying in New England. No steel structures, only mountains and trees.
Chopper Shots is offline Find More Posts by Chopper Shots
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 01:14 PM
Registered User
Joined Apr 2012
483 Posts
http://u.youku.com/user_show/id_UMzUxODEyMDA=.html

looks like the "The somersault cloud" is getting retracts...soon
flyingbiscuit1 is offline Find More Posts by flyingbiscuit1
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2012, 05:15 PM
Registered User
rruiz's Avatar
Joined Oct 2012
404 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyingbiscuit1 View Post
http://u.youku.com/user_show/id_UMzUxODEyMDA=.html

looks like the "The somersault cloud" is getting retracts...soon
Look post #2143 written by DJI TECH 4 ...
SW 800 retractable skids will be available in about 3 -4 weeks.
Will annonce their arrival very soon.
DJI TECH

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...77105&page=143

Regards

Roberto
rruiz is offline Find More Posts by rruiz
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI F550 Hex Build, with 2-axis NEX-5N/GH2 Gimbal... GGoodrum Multirotor Talk 9560 May 27, 2014 11:06 PM
New Product CLD 2/3-Axis FPV Gimbal for mini cameras and GoPro crd FPV Talk 9 Jul 13, 2012 10:42 PM
Discussion DJI Spread Wings S800 and Zenmuse Z15 prices are out! tpnitro Multirotor Talk 120 Jun 19, 2012 01:27 AM
Wanted 3 axis gimbal on a budget =) Vyas FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Mar 20, 2012 10:57 AM
New Product CLD 2/3-Axis FPV Gimbal for mini cameras and GoPro crd Aerial Photography 2 Sep 12, 2011 06:44 PM