HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 24, 2012, 03:39 PM
Registered User
EndOfDays's Avatar
Austria, Niederösterr., Eggenburg
Joined Jan 2010
1,420 Posts
Short clip of today, tried to go high and to go far (aperture 4.5, shutter 1/250-1/1000):

Z15 Videoblog 2012-07-24: altitude and distance (2 min 0 sec)


best regards

Ferdinand
EndOfDays is offline Find More Posts by EndOfDays
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 24, 2012, 04:33 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
well you succeeded!

That is HIGH and FAR!

I would be too chicken to take my rig up that high
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2012, 10:56 PM
Registered User
Canada, AB, Lethbridge
Joined Jul 2012
22 Posts
I assume you flew this far via data link? Very nice!
AVMEDIA is offline Find More Posts by AVMEDIA
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 01:28 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
Short clip of today, tried to go high and to go far (aperture 4.5, shutter 1/250-1/1000):

https://vimeo.com/46317570

best regards

Ferdinand
Wow , and your brave!
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 01:29 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
@topgearuk

I am using an Aurora 9, so only have 9 channels, you could do:

A,E,Th,Ru,U to the WKM (1-5)

and for the remaining 3 channels on the Zen (6-8)
Pan, Tilt, and the Mode

That is how I would do.

best regards

Ferdinand
Quote:
Originally Posted by oylore View Post
I'm using an DX8. Use 6 ch for the S800 ( 4 + Mode and IOC ) and 2 ch for Z15 ( Mode and Tilt ).
Works very fine.
Thanks
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 05:23 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
190 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneyw View Post
3 GH2 sent out this week for debugging (don't think there will be issue)... once done production start end of next week.
So is there a chance to receive our pre-orders for GH2 in Avgust?
miza is offline Find More Posts by miza
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 06:28 AM
Registered User
Moscow
Joined Jul 2006
392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
Short clip of today, tried to go high and to go far
Ferdinand, nice shots.
I've noticed on your z15 vids that the horizont is somehow floats when you rotate on pan axis. and I did not see that effect on Robert's and most of other videos.
what do you think could affect this behaviour? bad zen calibration probably?

cheers
dimitri
mitmit is offline Find More Posts by mitmit
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 07:20 AM
Registered User
EndOfDays's Avatar
Austria, Niederösterr., Eggenburg
Joined Jan 2010
1,420 Posts
If you fly fast, or wind for a longer period, so the copter is not leveled for some time (minutes) that happens, some sequences are 10xaccelerated, otherwise you would not notice that easy.

best regards

Ferdinand
EndOfDays is offline Find More Posts by EndOfDays
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Moscow
Joined Jul 2006
392 Posts
thanks Ferdinand but that sticks out a mile that horizont is not straight no matter how hard you slowed down or accelerated your vid in post.

I'll then address my question to Sidney (or someone from DJI):
Is it normal behavour of Zenmuse Z15 that it does not hold roll axis (horizont line) on accelerations/in strong winds?
mitmit is offline Find More Posts by mitmit
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 11:08 PM
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
United States, WI, Milwaukee
Joined Jan 2011
1,060 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitmit View Post
thanks Ferdinand but that sticks out a mile that horizont is not straight no matter how hard you slowed down or accelerated your vid in post.

I'll then address my question to Sidney (or someone from DJI):
Is it normal behavour of Zenmuse Z15 that it does not hold roll axis (horizont line) on accelerations/in strong winds?
I notice on very fast pans doing 360's with the Z15 gimbal the horizon will be off a tad but when you stop it corrects it self slowly. Kind of strange, luckily I have not needed to preform a move like that. Hope it gets fixed.
Dolby is online now Find More Posts by Dolby
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Dolby; Jul 25, 2012 at 11:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2012, 11:48 PM
Registered User
Lake Zurich, IL
Joined Jan 2008
5,654 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
I notice on very fast pans doing 360's with the Z15 gimbal the horizon will be off a tad but when you stop it corrects it self slowly. Kind of strange, luckily I have not needed to preform a move like that. Hope it gets fixed.
Being looked into ... hope to have a fix in a couple weeks.
sidneyw is offline Find More Posts by sidneyw
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 01:09 AM
SMILE you're being recorded :)
Velociraptor73's Avatar
Joined Apr 2010
755 Posts
Sorry guys but I found a much better and cheaper stabilization system than Zenmuse!

chicken head (0 min 59 sec)
Velociraptor73 is offline Find More Posts by Velociraptor73
Last edited by Velociraptor73; Jul 26, 2012 at 01:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 06:02 AM
jab
Unregistered User
Joined Aug 2007
1,064 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor73 View Post
Sorry guys but I found a much better and cheaper stabilization system than Zenmuse!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLIU1...layer_embedded
Yeah, strap that chicken upside down under a copter and ducktape a NEX to it's head. If nothing else you will get a great video... filming it flying from the ground.
jab is offline Find More Posts by jab
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 02:17 PM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Just looking it to different types of set-up. If using 2 RX's one for S-800 and one for Z-15, does the GCU supply power to the 2nd RX?
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2012, 02:39 PM
United States, MI, Goodrich
Joined Mar 2004
3,846 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by topgearuk View Post
Just looking it to different types of set-up. If using 2 RX's one for S-800 and one for Z-15, does the GCU supply power to the 2nd RX?
Yes, it does. The S800 has a separate XT60 connector just for the Z15 GCU.

The S800/Z15/WKM really is plug and play. Its almost "stupid easy" to get flawless Aerial Video now.

To think how many mounts, setups, time balancing etc. we went thru from 2005 to current trying to achieve perfect video.

Now I don't even bother with balancing or even adjusting the WKM gains anymore. Just go out there and "fly it like you stole it" and the raw footage is amazing.

There is nothing out there that can do that. Might cost a little more upfront, but in the end, its worth it because you don't have to waste time with post processing or setup.

Yes, I'm sure I sound bias because we are a authorized Zenmuse dealer (not 2nd tier) but I'm 100% sold on Zenmuse technology.

Thats my 2 cents, now back to work.
UAVProducts is offline Find More Posts by UAVProducts
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI F550 Hex Build, with 2-axis NEX-5N/GH2 Gimbal... GGoodrum Multirotor Talk 9560 May 27, 2014 11:06 PM
New Product CLD 2/3-Axis FPV Gimbal for mini cameras and GoPro crd FPV Talk 9 Jul 13, 2012 10:42 PM
Discussion DJI Spread Wings S800 and Zenmuse Z15 prices are out! tpnitro Multirotor Talk 120 Jun 19, 2012 01:27 AM
Wanted 3 axis gimbal on a budget =) Vyas FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Mar 20, 2012 10:57 AM
New Product CLD 2/3-Axis FPV Gimbal for mini cameras and GoPro crd Aerial Photography 2 Sep 12, 2011 06:44 PM