Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:58 AM
Climbing the learning curve!
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Jan 2011
310 Posts
Question
FPV newbie, please share your thoughts

Hi all!

I'm still fairly new to all this, been flying a HK 450 clone with a Turnigy 9X for about a year (on and off) and have decided to take the plunge into FPV.

After quite a bit of reading, including some of the sticky threads in this section I'm beginning to finally get a good idea of how I want to start off in taking a camera to the skies. Now I'm not that great at flying, I can hover and do a basic circuit and I'm not really interested in flying like Alan Szabo Jr. and defying the laws of physics with fancy 3D acrobatics! That said, I'm ready to take it a step further.

I live in Brisbane in the outer suburbs and would primarily like to fly on the outskirts of town where there is quite likely to be an existent noise floor of mobile phones (which operate around the 900mhz) and wifi (2.4ghz). That said, I've narrowed down a small list of equipment which I believe will be suitable to get me off the ground within a tight budget. If I can get some opinions and suggestions I'm more than happy to take it on board and hold off on a purchase before learning more, as much I'm starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.. I can resist the urge to splurge just a little longer

5.8Ghz FPV Video TX RX 200mW 2.0Km+2pcs 11db panel antenna - eBay - $97 (incl. delivery)
540TVL Sony CCD Nextchip DSP Mini Hidden Camera 0.01Lux CCTV Security - AUCCTV.com - $45
PL8006 Portable 8" Color LCD Monitor TV - Dealextreme - $73

Total : $215

Just about within my budget but after a fair bit of window shopping I think it'll get me a half decent starting point before I go ahead and upgrade to CP/SPW antennas (possibly diversity/tracking) and a booster for my 2.4ghz Turnigy (and possibly change the tx/rx modules), OSD/GPS (and telemetry), goggles, ground recording etc.