Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Feb 27, 2012, 10:38 AM
United States, CA, Livermore
Joined Jan 2005
129 Posts
Discussion
Best method to charge a 1600 NiMh flatpack?

What is the recommended method for charging a replacement 1600 NiMh flatpack that I just bought for my glider? I have a Hyperion programmable charger that can charge and balance all types of batteries. Should I use that?
Riodiler1 is offline Find More Posts by Riodiler1
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 27, 2012, 03:03 PM
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Joined Sep 2007
698 Posts
Rio,

I'm no expert on batteries, but these new programmable chargers make me feel like a wizard! I'd say, get out your Hyperion instructions and check it out. I use my old Multiplex charger on LiPos, NiCads, and NiMH without any issues. Just follow instructions and you'll be fine.

Dave
Highride is offline Find More Posts by Highride
Old Feb 27, 2012, 03:37 PM
LSF303 / AMA Life Member
USA, IL, Wheeling
Joined Jan 2003
3,102 Posts
For at least the first charge, charge at 1/10 C (160 ma in this case) for a minimum of 18 hours (24 hours is better).

I have seen many people fast charge NiMh cells the first time and they do not charge to the full capacity.

Using a forming charger is also a good idea if you have one, but the old 24 hour 1/10C is still the ticket for nickel chemistry cells.
tkallev is offline Find More Posts by tkallev
Old Feb 27, 2012, 05:17 PM
Greeley, Colorado, USA
Joined Feb 2000
2,806 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkallev View Post
For at least the first charge, charge at 1/10 C (160 ma in this case) for a minimum of 18 hours (24 hours is better).

I have seen many people fast charge NiMh cells the first time and they do not charge to the full capacity.

Using a forming charger is also a good idea if you have one, but the old 24 hour 1/10C is still the ticket for nickel chemistry cells.