HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 24, 2012, 01:34 PM
United States, NC, Cary
Joined Feb 2012
4 Posts
Discussion
Apprentice or a step up - how not to get bored...

Hey Group,

I have been flying planes on simulators (Microsoft and more recently Phoenix) on and off for about 10 years. I just recently purchased an UM PZ P-51. I've been having a lot of fun with it and feel confident flying around, landing having had no "uh oh" moments in about 30 or so flights (uh-oh now that I put that in writing I'm sure I'll have my first). I am a newbie and probably know just enough to be dangerous.

I'm looking to progress and have been researching trainers like the Super Cub and Apprentice. I like the Apprentice due to the extra maneuvers that are available once you get comfortable with basic flight. My concern is that I'll get bored with it quickly and should therefore purchase something more challenging.

Would I be better off purchasing something slightly more challenging like a T-28 or a Corsair or are they too advanced for someone who is really just starting out with non-simulator flight? The FMS T-28 looks really awesome, but is it too advanced for a first timer?

Any other suggestions for good quality (somewhat beginner) plane which requires minimum assembly? I have the dx6i Tx and usually fly at a large soccer park or a school near where I live...so I have plenty of room.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Niets is offline Find More Posts by Niets
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 24, 2012, 02:14 PM
Joined Mar 2010
1,337 Posts
I'd say you're ready for just about ready any plane...If it's a BEAST style 3D just turn the rates way down.
rtbates is offline Find More Posts by rtbates
Old Feb 24, 2012, 03:49 PM
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Jun 2007
1,791 Posts