HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 22, 2012, 09:15 PM
dumbthumb
aleXtino's Avatar
World's Ass - Chile
Joined Dec 2004
346 Posts
Discussion
Using a Lipo Boster and Optimas

Hi

I got a voltage booster that I use to power an Optima 6 Light for a Binary DLG with a single cell 350 lipo.

May I get a real lipo Volts reading if the lipo is connected directly to SPC port keeping the booster connected to an empty channel? TX keeps 5V on display all the time, I want to know the real Lipo voltage, before it dies or get a brown out...

I guess not, but worth the question.
aleXtino is offline Find More Posts by aleXtino
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2012, 02:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,689 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleXtino View Post
Hi I got a voltage booster that I use to power an Optima 6 Light for a Binary DLG with a single cell 350 lipo.
May I get a real lipo Volts reading if the lipo is connected directly to SPC port keeping the booster connected to an empty channel?
TX keeps 5V on display all the time, I want to know the real Lipo voltage, before it dies or get a brown out... I guess not, but worth the question
.
No, the Optima transceiver would shut down as a single Lipo is below the minimum operating
voltage which the SPC port requires to power the transceiver.

Optima Transceiver & Minima (RX) - Voltage Input Limits.

Optima Transceiver (RX) - SPC connection & Lead FAQ for EP & GP models.
"Notes
Optima voltage requirements are 4.8-7.4v being the nominal value of a 2S Lipo.
A fully charged 2S Lipo being maximum input voltage to the Servo Bus.
Whilst the Optima accept 2S, extremely few servos are capable of running on a 2S lipo."


ex Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora 9, AFHSS Spectra Modules, Optima Transceivers, Minima Receivers
& Telemetry
- FAQ & Undocumented Features
- Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links (quick search = Ctrl+F)
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 08:08 AM
dumbthumb
aleXtino's Avatar
World's Ass - Chile
Joined Dec 2004
346 Posts
Im using this

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=11784

with a single lipo to power rx connected to a spare channel. It keeps reading 5V, so, I wonder if there are any other way to get real volts of the lipo.
aleXtino is offline Find More Posts by aleXtino
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2012, 12:15 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2002
5,689 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleXtino View Post
<snip> a single lipo to power rx connected to a spare channel. It keeps reading 5V, so, I wonder if there are any other way to get real volts of the lipo.
Yes, with additional equipment which overall may be to heavy for a 1S powered model.
Telemetry - HTS-Volt & HTS-SS_Blue setup.

Minima receivers have a lower operating voltage, but to achieve lower weight/size/operating volt level,
lack ability to return data.


Alan T.
A.T. is offline Find More Posts by A.T.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Using your Lipo's Safely maq007 Batteries and Chargers 16 Sep 30, 2011 07:33 PM
Discussion Maximum current in Hitec Rx Optimas? rgil Radios 2 Sep 14, 2011 07:11 PM
Discussion Using a E-flite Lipo balancing charger with Turnigy Lipo batteries Eagle-RC.com Batteries and Chargers 2 May 18, 2011 11:47 AM
For Sale New T-Mobile LG Optimas andriod touch phone fetish636 Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Feb 14, 2011 11:51 PM
Rant OS Boster Terminal Kit rockom Engines 1 Jun 18, 2007 01:16 AM