HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Old Feb 21, 2012, 04:50 PM
United States, CO, Dacono
Joined Nov 2010
695 Posts
Discussion

cherokeenut is offline Find More Posts by cherokeenut
Last edited by cherokeenut; Apr 28, 2014 at 11:48 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 21, 2012, 06:00 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,460 Posts
Tail dragger doesnt have any effect on incidence... (in my opinion) The wheels sound to be in a good spot. I usually put my conversions where the front of the whell is just peeking out beyong the leading edge when looking straight down. But ballpark will work fine. You just don't want it to far back where it will nose over easily so you want the pivot ahead of the CG.

The tail will come up quickly and the incidence is the same as a trike at that point. You'll need to apply right rudder as you increase power on takeoff.. different planes take different amounts.
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
Last edited by Thermalin; Feb 21, 2012 at 07:10 PM.
Old Feb 21, 2012, 07:15 PM
United States, MD, Elkton
Joined Oct 2011
8,984 Posts
where's my axle?

You did good! the axle always wants to be a skoche ahead of the wing leading edge for starters...and if you're not happy with that,shim it a little till you are.

There was a formula that we used,'way back,prolly still works.Mark the thrust line on the fuse with tape,momentarily.Find the C/G,and draw a line square off the thrust line to the C/G...from that dot,mark a line at 17 degrees down to the axle.
This method takes into account the relationship of the axle with the C/G,in the case of tapered wings or low wings....and especially biplanes.

If I confused you ,sorry...your way is good,also.
epoxyearl is offline Find More Posts by epoxyearl
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by epoxyearl; Feb 21, 2012 at 07:26 PM.
Old Feb 21, 2012, 09:51 PM
Joined Nov 2010
695 Posts
Last edited by cherokeenut; Apr 28, 2014 at 11:49 PM.