HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:09 PM
Registered User
United States, TN, Unicoi
Joined Jul 2012
14 Posts
Or do I need to just set it to rate mode and use hi med and low with expo
quadflyer82 is offline Find More Posts by quadflyer82
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:21 PM
Your customer
Silverexpress's Avatar
Berkley, MI
Joined Dec 2009
1,408 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaus View Post
Silver express you saved me weeks of time . I was going to send the rx in for repair. and buy another rx and esc. All the 921 needed was the extra remote rx. It already had 2 permanent wires coming out of the case and the rx would bind with the 2 wires, so it looked correct.

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Glad we could be of some help.
Silverexpress is offline Find More Posts by Silverexpress
Last edited by Silverexpress; Nov 26, 2012 at 10:17 PM. Reason: team effort!
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:56 PM
Rick
United States, CA, Santa Clara
Joined Mar 2011
2,201 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadflyer82 View Post
Ok will try if I don't like the feel can I just use the direct rate mode and still use hi med and low settings with expo
In 3D you can use dual/tri rate and expo and it will have pretty much the same effect it has without the Guardian. I highly recommend that you at least try the 3D heading hold direct rate. Some people feel the HH gets between them and the plane but I love it It has the effect of locking the plane in whatever attitude you put it and allows this weak pilot to do things I couldn't do without help.
choochoo22 is offline Find More Posts by choochoo22
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:01 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by choochoo22 View Post
In 3D you can use dual/tri rate and expo and it will have pretty much the same effect it has without the Guardian. I highly recommend that you at least try the 3D heading hold direct rate. Some people feel the HH gets between them and the plane but I love it It has the effect of locking the plane in whatever attitude you put it and allows this weak pilot to do things I couldn't do without help.
choochoo22,

I agree, the heading hold feature is a hoot. It let's you explore all kind of silliness and definitely reduces pilot workload. I like it.

Bill
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 05:17 AM
Chasin' that Neon Rainbow
Grantham Kid's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Grantham
Joined Oct 2012
2,970 Posts
I posted elsewhere but got no response. Maybe someone here can answer my Q.

I have an Eagletree Guardian ordered and I know it may be some time before it arrives due to demand, but, I am happy to wait.
My question is to anyone that may have used one.
Will the pitch/attitude be controlled enough to keep the plane level when flaps are extended so I don't have to mix elevator/flap?
From my understanding this should be the case.
Is 2D only wing levelling? (that is how it looks in the ads.)
Grantham Kid is online now Find More Posts by Grantham Kid
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 05:35 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,920 Posts
2D is complete levelling. Pitch and roll. If you switch it on it will snap a plane into level flight from a tight spin as fast as you could possibly do it with no overshoot .

It should cope with flaps no problem!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantham Kid View Post
I posted elsewhere but got no response. Maybe someone here can answer my Q.

I have an Eagletree Guardian ordered and I know it may be some time before it arrives due to demand, but, I am happy to wait.
My question is to anyone that may have used one.
Will the pitch/attitude be controlled enough to keep the plane level when flaps are extended so I don't have to mix elevator/flap?
From my understanding this should be the case.
Is 2D only wing levelling? (that is how it looks in the ads.)
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 06:45 AM
Chasin' that Neon Rainbow
Grantham Kid's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Grantham
Joined Oct 2012
2,970 Posts
Thank you jj604. Much appreciated. I will sleep well tonight
Grantham Kid is online now Find More Posts by Grantham Kid
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 06:49 AM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantham Kid View Post
I posted elsewhere but got no response. Maybe someone here can answer my Q.

I have an Eagletree Guardian ordered and I know it may be some time before it arrives due to demand, but, I am happy to wait.
My question is to anyone that may have used one.
Will the pitch/attitude be controlled enough to keep the plane level when flaps are extended so I don't have to mix elevator/flap?
From my understanding this should be the case.
Is 2D only wing levelling? (that is how it looks in the ads.)
Absolutely it will work. I installed one on FA18 Hornet that always ballooned when landing. It works great.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:26 AM
Chasin' that Neon Rainbow
Grantham Kid's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Grantham
Joined Oct 2012
2,970 Posts
LOL funny you should say that. I had a FA18 Hornet that ballooned on landing as well. It was very gentle to fly though, just didn't want to come home to daddy....
Grantham Kid is online now Find More Posts by Grantham Kid
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:38 AM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,653 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grantham Kid View Post
LOL funny you should say that. I had a FA18 Hornet that ballooned on landing as well. It was very gentle to fly though, just didn't want to come home to daddy....
I just got fed up with ballooning and Guardian kept it level until it would stall. The plane had a "low rider gearset" and one main rubbed the fuselage and it hooked right on takeoff right into the catch fence. The nose broke off and could have been glued back together except the fan chewed up some of the foam pieces into itty bitty pieces. I have a spare kit (with rudders) I need to put together.

I ran a 900 watt BI 3600 in it. The FA18 Hornet is pretty quick with 900 watts..
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by Prof100; Nov 27, 2012 at 08:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:40 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,936 Posts
thaus, sorry to hear about your issue. Can you confirm whether the issue you are having was resolved by connecting the Rx satellite, or are there other Rx related problems?
billpa is offline Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:19 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, England, Long Eaton
Joined Nov 2012
13 Posts
If any one's struggling to find stock of the Guardian 2d/3d then ready made rc where i got mine is still showing 47 units.

HTH

Andy
andy335touring is offline Find More Posts by andy335touring
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 04:06 PM
Rick
United States, CA, Santa Clara
Joined Mar 2011
2,201 Posts
I just ordered one from Amazon and it has shipped. No bargain on the price but shipping was free.
choochoo22 is offline Find More Posts by choochoo22
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 04:13 PM
Chasin' that Neon Rainbow
Grantham Kid's Avatar
Australia, QLD, Grantham
Joined Oct 2012
2,970 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy335touring View Post
If any one's struggling to find stock of the Guardian 2d/3d then ready made rc where i got mine is still showing 47 units.

HTH

Andy
Unfortunately I already ordered mine through HK so I now have to wait. (If they ever get them) I have a Trojan I want to put it in but I guess I will have to maiden without it.
Grantham Kid is online now Find More Posts by Grantham Kid
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 05:06 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
United States, UT
Joined Jan 2011
3,411 Posts
AMAZON?

That's awesome...

Quote:
Originally Posted by choochoo22 View Post
I just ordered one from Amazon and it has shipped. No bargain on the price but shipping was free.
m_beeson is offline Find More Posts by m_beeson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can I control Guardian stabilizer with DX6i? njwxyz Eagle Tree Systems 9 Jun 02, 2014 01:17 PM
Discussion GPS 2D Plots incomplete, 3D OK jackerbes Eagle Tree Systems 1 Oct 23, 2011 10:42 PM
Discussion Premier 1st generation, Gen 2 Vector unit, 2D or 3D motor unit lanternfly RC Kites 0 Oct 05, 2011 10:42 PM
Data 2d or 3d wing ribs? Marty7n Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 56 Sep 22, 2011 05:06 PM
Discussion 3View to 3D to 2d techasist CAD/CAM 0 Mar 27, 2011 01:19 AM