HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:05 PM
I'm a pilot... 100 yrs to late
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Discussion
Installing right thrust and whats the measurement

What's the best way to create 2.5 degress right thrust on a firewall.. By sanding the angle into the back of the motor mount or using a shim on the fireweall. Firewall is already in place per instructions / plan.

Also how would I know what a 2.5 degree offset would be in terms of the distance offcenter of the shaft?

I know the formula has to do with the radius of the circle. For example a 2 inch circle will be quite different from a 2 foot circle where the 2.5 degrees would be a much larger linear measurement. My radius would be the distance from firewall to propeller.
Thermalin is offline Find More Posts by Thermalin
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:18 PM
KE your cub.
in the gutter, again....
Joined Jun 2005
4,026 Posts
With a pre- positioned firewall, I would be inclined to shim. Also, you say 2.5degrees, this is only a starting measurement, you may find you need more, or less, so if you sand the mount you wont get back what you took off.

as for the offset, ask a high-school kid to work it out.

It's simple trig
Curare is offline Find More Posts by Curare
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:42 PM
USA, FL, Palm Harbor
Joined Jan 2005
3,423 Posts
Good point on the starting point! Shim it is.
Yeah, I've foud some formulas but it's a pain in the arse. I just realized I have several plans that show right and down thrust and degress so I'll find one and measure that.
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:47 PM
KE your cub.
in the gutter, again....
Joined Jun 2005
4,026 Posts
if you give me the distance from the mount to the thrust washer I can knock out a mud map for you.

If you give me the width of the mount I can give you the width of the shim too.
Curare is offline Find More Posts by Curare
Old Feb 17, 2012, 01:39 AM
United States, CA, Clovis
Joined Mar 2004
3,069 Posts