Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 05, 2012, 12:28 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
4 Posts
NOT hot anymore

Hi, I have another question, I have the 11.1 V version S033g.....and after I charge it and it says its charged......I can get it to go upward but for not long and when you start going forward or reverse it suddenly starts dropping down toward the ground. Could this be a battery issue?
GHD1959 is offline Find More Posts by GHD1959
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 01, 2012, 04:21 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
I just bought the same heli...same problem..help!
Straycatdave is offline Find More Posts by Straycatdave
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 01, 2012, 04:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
2 Posts
I just bought the same heli...same problem..help!
Straycatdave is offline Find More Posts by Straycatdave
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2012, 05:41 PM
Registered User
morris alabama
Joined Feb 2001
367 Posts
Problem is inexperience with the helicopter. I agree with some of the earlier posters.These will fly and fly successfully but patience is required.
tigermoth is offline Find More Posts by tigermoth
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 08:51 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
11 Posts
All of you guys with syma 033,032and like ilk are all having the same interruption of flight.I've been fighting this battle for two months and have not found any cure that I would guarantee.I'm dragging a 6"antenna now with the rest around the legs of the gear.Works(most of the time).Replaced "B" motor,no joy.I'm with the gang.I'm frustrated.Syma has been NO HELP.Grrrrrrrr.
lew308 is offline Find More Posts by lew308
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 01:14 PM
Registered User
mmatrix00's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2012
33 Posts
I have many different RC planes, helicopters, cars, boats you name it, and I control them, like everybody else, either using with my advance RX/TX system or just using their original RTF "inexpensive receiver and transmitters".
At their own level, they all work. The connection is usually not a problem you just notice the difference in how smooth it is or when flying a glider at 1000ft.

I bought this S033g on an auction and I can tell you that "IT HAS ONE BIG DESIGN PROBLEM".
It is an RC toy that doesn't do RC just toy with moments of RC. =)

This is the most useful information on this thread. Excellent info. I will try it an repot, Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlP View Post
The wavelength of 27mhz is 11 meters so a 1/4 wave antenna is 11meters divided by 4 =108 inches. Since running 108" wire is a bit much they either use a coil on the receiver to "add" inches or a multiple of 108" like 54" or 27".
mmatrix00 is offline Find More Posts by mmatrix00
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2012, 09:37 PM
Registered User
mmatrix00's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2012
33 Posts
Right on the Money.
For 27mhz frequency - 54 inches of antenna works amazing and solves all the problems.

Before I was loosing connection almost permanently even to the point were the helicopter will drop to the floor at less than 5’ from me.

Bought 5' of wire at Home Depot cut 54" and replace the little stock antenna and THAT WAS IT.

I can now fly high low, far and close and It is always connected.
Thanks for the idea, see my pictures below. This is how I did it and it works.
mmatrix00 is offline Find More Posts by mmatrix00
Last edited by mmatrix00; Nov 19, 2012 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 06:25 AM
Motto - fly it, crash it = fun
United States, GA
Joined Jul 2007
101 Posts
Hmmmm....interesting antenna length change, MM.., but how did you cut 54" from the 48" (4 feet) of wire that you bought? Did you add wire to the original antenna, or buy 5' or 6' or ???
fs2flyer is offline Find More Posts by fs2flyer
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:52 PM
Registered User
mmatrix00's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2012
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fs2flyer View Post
how did you cut 54" from the 48"
It was a typo. Fixed. Thanks.
mmatrix00 is offline Find More Posts by mmatrix00
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 03:55 PM
Registered User
Joined Nov 2012
3 Posts
What gauge wire was it?
FlygirlToo is offline Find More Posts by FlygirlToo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 12:23 AM
Registered User
mmatrix00's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2012
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlygirlToo View Post
What gauge wire was it?
It is exactly 1mm in diameter I would say an 18 gauge wire.
mmatrix00 is offline Find More Posts by mmatrix00
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:07 AM
scratch-built
Jim Lee's Avatar
United States, WA, Port Orchard
Joined Apr 2007
997 Posts
27 MHz not the best frequency for Heli's

27 MHz
CHANNEL FREQUENCY
1 26.965 MHz 21 27.215 MHz
2 26.975 MHz 22 27.225 MHz
3 26.985 MHz 23 27.255 MHz
26.995 MHz...Ch 1--RC
4 27.005 MHz 24 27.235 MHz
5 27.015 MHz
25 27.245 MHz
6 27.025 MHz 27.255 MHz...Ch-6--RC
26 27.265 MHz
7 27.035 MHz 27 27.275 MHz
27.045 MHz...Ch 2--RC
8 27.055 MHz 28 27.285 MHz
9 27.065 MHz 29 27.295 MHz
10 27.075 MHz 30 27.305 MHz
11 27.085 MHz 31 27.315 MHz
27.095 MHz...Ch-3--RC
12 27.105 MHz 32 27.325 MHz
13 27.115 MHz 33 27.335 MHz
14 27.125 MHz 34 27.345 MHz
15 27.135 MHz 35 27.355 MHz
27.145 MHz...Ch-4--RC
16 27.155 MHz 36 27.365 MHz
17 27.165 MHz 37 27.375 MHz
18 27.175 MHz 38 27.385 MHz
19 27.185 MHz 39 27.395 MHz
27.195 MHz...Ch-5--RC
20 27.205 MHz 40 27.405 MHz


These are the 6 frequencies allocated For the RC Radios on the 27 MHz band.
They are interspersed between the 27MHz frequencies allocated for the Citizen Band Radios on the 27 MHz band.

This is one of the reasons why having a Helicopter or Airplane on the 27 MHz band is a bad idea in this country. A citizen band radio has 4 watts of power (I think it used to be 5 watts back in the 70's, But the FCC lowered it to 4 Watts if my memory serves me) Our RC Radios operate at a fraction of that power.

Then there's the phenomenon called "skip" and it varies according to sun spot activity. When sun spot activity is high, Then the "skip" is in strong. The radio signal leaves the CB Antenna and bounces off of the ionosphere and can come back to earth hundreds of miles away from it's origin. It was easier to talk to someone hundreds of miles away, When "skip" was in, Than it was to talk to someone across town.

Then if having to put up with the citizen Band bleed over into adjacent channels (There's only ten MHz seperation between channels) You also have the Citizen Band Radio operators that arn't satisified with running a stock radio, They crank up their big, illegal, linear Amps like a Swan or Henry that's putting out 5000 watts or more and then you really have a mess on 27 MHz. These illegal amps can wipe out five or six channels or more, on either side of the one that they are transmitting on . If you have a CB radio, tune in to channel six some time whe the "skip" is in, as that's known as the "Smoke Blowers" Channel.

So as you can see, That while a longer antenna can sometimes help, It can also multiply the interference.



26.995 MHz...Ch-1--RC

27.045 MHz...Ch-2--RC

27.095 MHz...Ch-3--RC

27.145 MHz...Ch-4--RC

27.195 MHz...Ch-5--RC

27.255 MHz...Ch-6--RC

J
Jim Lee is offline Find More Posts by Jim Lee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 02:18 PM
Registered User
mmatrix00's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2012
33 Posts
Excellent information Jim.
I guess this thread will be viewed by people that already bought this heli and is taring to make it work/improve using the 27MHz frequency.

have flown mine several times after the antenna upgrade (still in 27MHz) and in the middle of the city and so far I never lost connection again.

I use 24GHz DSMX for everything else I own.
mmatrix00 is offline Find More Posts by mmatrix00
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 03:54 PM
scratch-built
Jim Lee's Avatar
United States, WA, Port Orchard
Joined Apr 2007
997 Posts
Me too, I will not buy any more heli's on 27 MHz after the experience I've had with this one. I've got a new pcb and motors coming for my S033G. I have the long antenna on it, But I still get signal losses. I think that there may be something wrong with the original pcb as the S033G used to fly without any signal loss problems.

If replacing the motors and pcb doesn't solve the signal loss problem, I guess I'll just use it for spare parts for the S33.

All I can say, Is thank Goodness that Syma saw the light and came out with the S33 on 2.4GHz.

mmatrix00,

When you put your long antenna on your S033G, Did you use stranded, copper wire? Or a single, solid, copper wire?

J
Jim Lee is offline Find More Posts by Jim Lee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 12:32 AM
Registered User
mmatrix00's Avatar
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Oct 2012
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Lee View Post
mmatrix00,
When you put your long antenna on your S033G, Did you use stranded, copper wire? Or a single, solid, copper wire?
It was regular solid wire Jim (see picture).
Actually, I did a little distance test today with the S033G.
Basically I flew the helicopter away from me to a distance of aprox 130 feet and It was still immediately responding.
Pretty amazing for a heli that was loosing its signal at only 4’ !
mmatrix00 is offline Find More Posts by mmatrix00
Last edited by mmatrix00; Mar 24, 2013 at 03:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idea These mods made the Syma S033g fly better. rcwatchman Electric Heli Talk 89 Aug 09, 2014 07:49 PM
Discussion Syma S033G - Larger Battery Speedy059 Coaxial Helicopters 16 Aug 08, 2014 12:08 AM
New Product NEW!!Syma SUPER SIZED 36" S033G Share thercguy Coaxial Helicopters 276 Sep 02, 2013 11:27 PM
Discussion Syma S033g Master-hand mode and vernier adjustment knob? Nelatonin Electric Heli Talk 13 Jan 19, 2012 02:35 AM
Video Review! Biggest Syma S033G Co-axial RC Electric Helicopter w/ LED Lights & Gyroscope thercguy Electric Heli Talk 4 Oct 21, 2011 04:08 PM