HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Feb 14, 2012, 11:29 AM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Help!
Orange receiver min volt question

Hi, there!!

Does anyone out there know what minimum voltage do the orange spektrum compatible receivers (R410 and R415) operate? ie. can a 1s 160mah lipo be used?

This is the proposed arrangement:
1s 160mah lipo
micro bl esc
HK A05 bl
receiver above
modified Cox Icon IC CS6 (6gm) servo board with magnetic coil/5kohm pot

Thanks

Tpd
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 14, 2012, 08:01 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2005
747 Posts
I think they will operate on 1 lipo. I have operated Spektrum AR6300 and AR6110
on 1 lipo with good results. I have a 6 ch HK orange receiver on order and will
report the results operating on 1 lipo.
. If you want to operate a brushed motor with these
receivers you will probably have a hard time finding a good low cost unit.
I designed one my self which is operating great. If anyone is interested I
can send you a schematic and layout.
scharlach is offline Find More Posts by scharlach
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 07:45 AM
Pilot, Co-pilot, Navagator
nemoskull's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Sep 2009
2,766 Posts
the r415 will do 1S. the r610 i got down to 3 volts, but the servos got dodgey then. i think the voltage regulator start to have problems about the 3 volt mark. but thena gain, you should not be flying at 3 volts.....
hobbyking has a nice 3A brushed ESC, but at 10 dollars, its cheaper to get a BL ESC!
nemoskull is offline Find More Posts by nemoskull
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 10:01 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Thanks for your reply people!

Now, if I use the 415, and the modified servo board/coil is with a regular 3pin female plug (that fits ok in the R410) can I use an adapter wire/plug to be connected to this receiver? Or am I asking to burn something in the process?

Thanks again.
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 06:57 AM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scharlach View Post
I think they will operate on 1 lipo. I have operated Spektrum AR6300 and AR6110
on 1 lipo with good results.
Unless it has modified by "the steve", an AR6300 will lock out on 1S if voltage goes below 3.5v, which is super easy to do with a 1 amp motor and typical lipos.

Maybe in a hand launched glider you can run an AR6300 on 1S, but I wouldn't on anything else.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 12:33 PM
Pilot, Co-pilot, Navagator
nemoskull's Avatar
United States, AZ, Yuma
Joined Sep 2009
2,766 Posts
turbo prop: what are you trying to do again? i think the r415 works on 2S, check the HK site for sure.
nemoskull is offline Find More Posts by nemoskull
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 10:03 PM
Registered User
Turbopropdrive's Avatar
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, San Lorenzo
Joined Jul 2010
71 Posts
Hi, there again!!

Nope I am not using an AR6300.
When I saw Graham Stabler's modified servo board for magnetic actuators diagram(The link is in this forum somewhere), I saw that the parts to remove from the connections were the servo motor and the servo pot. And likewise substitute the motor for the coil and the pot for a 5kohm potentiometer for control surface centering (because otherwise there would be no feedback to the servo board.) Since I am really new in this micro/indoor arena, I am trying to save a few bucks (which by the way are very few, Ha! Ha!) and use two old Cox IconRC CS6 6gm servos for the project. The model is a
FG DH Beaver in conventional gear configuration:
WS 15in
motor AP05
HK micro BL esc
1s 160mah lipo (Nanotech)
the two modified servo boards
Either the HK orange R410 or R415 (if they work, this is the thread question).

When I saw the original thread on printing directly into foam (WF forum), I just got really enthusiastic on the idea. I have purchased a few receivers/escs/Bl motors from HK. But I am afraid that the project might not work or worse burn something. The only RC equipment I can use is Spektrum (I have a DX8 for Xmas) so other brands of receivers would not apply. On my next reply I will try to include shots of the model with the motor installed, and some others from the servos as they are now. I even created a new thread to see if somewhere I might also get ideas on how to modify my X6650 printer to print directly on foam and of course save a few grams of parasite weight.

In the meantime ...to all of you thanks and Fly safe and happy landings!

Tubopropdriver (Tpd)
Turbopropdrive is offline Find More Posts by Turbopropdrive
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 30 min vs 5 min epoxy? silentsoar The Builders Workshop 12 Aug 19, 2011 07:58 AM
Question Volt meter wiring question CoolerByTheLake DIY Electronics 2 Aug 06, 2011 04:08 PM
Discussion 12 volt tether question?????? Pete1232 Batteries and Chargers 5 Jul 28, 2011 05:43 AM
Discussion Min. cutoff Voltage vs. min. capacity KRProton High Performance 11 Jun 19, 2011 10:52 AM