HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 13, 2003, 10:39 AM
Burlington VT
Joined Aug 2003
379 Posts
ideas for a good airfoil for 24" Pitts?

Previously posted under Modeling Science, but there isn't much traffic over there- I was hoping you-all could help me out

I've been looking for an airfoil for my latest project, but I'm new to aerodynamic design and I'm not too confident in my airfoil selecting skills yet. Based on other 3D ships I've seen, I'm expecting a high percent thickness symmetrical airfoil with very little camber, but I don't know the names of any to compare in Profili.

I'm looking for a symmetrical airfoil with a good speed range for my 24" Pitts. The plane is based on Chris3d's micropitts plans scaled up 2.1X. The first rev. I made had the stock undercambered wings and flew great. It was a bit slow, and was nearly impossible to fly inverted though. My first attempt at a symmetrical airfoil didn't seem to produce much lift and was nearly an ounce heavier than the stock set. Not a particularly exciting combination even with LiPos. For Rev.2 I'm working with thinner foam and that should allow me to make a symmetrical wing without too much additional weight. Wings are removable as well, so I may end up trying different airfoils.

Here are the specs I can think of:

24" span for both wings with rounded tips
4 3/8" chord
approx. 200 sq. in. but it's a bipe, so effectively smaller
target AUW 9-11 Oz
2S1P Kokam 1200 LiPos
Four channel control T/A/E/R

I've stuffed a MiniAC 1215/20 in a GWS gear box for Rev.2
which is supposed to produce about 13Oz with a 9/7 prop at a 4.33/1 gearing. Previously (Rev.1) I was using a GWS300C with an A (3.67/1) gearbox with an 8/6 prop. I've bought a few pinions and spurs to mess around with the gear ratio too. I'm aiming for max thrust with an 8/6 or a 9/7 without overdriving the lipos. Bigger props will be tough to land with.