Old Feb 10, 2012, 12:28 PM
Happy Flying !
India, Andhra Pradesh, HYD
Joined Feb 2012
15 Posts
Discussion
Hobbyzone Champ Or Parkzone Radian

Hi All,
I am a total newb in RC. After much reading I concluded that the two most recommended planes for beginners are :

Parkzone Radian. (http://www.parkzone.com/Products/Def...ProdId=PKZ4700)
Hobbyzone Champ. (http://www.hobbyzonerc.com/Products/...#quickOverview)

But I am now confused about which one to buy between these two. Both planes have different character, and will definitely have pros and cons in terms of learning experience.

Since I live in India, where parts availability is non existent, and everything has to be shipped from China or US, hence durability and affordability is also one of my priorities.

Please help me find out which one of these two will be more suitable for the learning experience...
rccrazyfromindia is offline Find More Posts by rccrazyfromindia
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 10, 2012, 03:13 PM
More Altitude, Less Attitude!
United States, SC, Ninety Six
Joined Mar 2008
547 Posts
EASY TO CONTROL:
Both are three channel models (throttle, rudder, and elevator). The Radian is massively more powerful. Probably more power than a beginner really needs. It must be flown gently under power or it could loop and roll out of control.
ADVANTAGE, CHAMP.

EASY TO REPAIR:
The Radian can take a beating and still fly. When it does break, it is a simple task to glue it back together. Rhat's a good thing because as a beginner, you WILL crash. At just under 2 pounds, crashing the Radian always risks needing new parts rather than repair. The parts in the Champ are small and can be a challenge when it comes to repairs. The good news is, you probably won't need to make repairs often. It is so lightweight and slow that crashes seldom damage it.
ADVANTAGE: CHAMP.

COST:
Radian RTF, $250. Champ RTF, $90. Batteries for the Champ are cheap as are replacement parts if needed.
ADVANTAGE: CHAMP.

FLEXIBILITY: