SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 21, 2012, 12:02 PM
Gravity is a harsh mistress.
Tim Wolff's Avatar
United States, MI, Temperance
Joined Sep 2002
6,600 Posts
The ailerons look like they will work great. I had hoped to do ailerons on mine too. But, the weight was beginning to add up and I had imposed a time constraint on myself. I also wondered how effective they would be. Looking forward to your flight report.
Tim Wolff is online now Find More Posts by Tim Wolff
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 21, 2012, 08:30 PM
Mr. Magoo's Co-Pilot
GRUMPEE's Avatar
USA, CA, San Diego
Joined Sep 2009
1,226 Posts
subscribed. Just ordered one with the free anylink, this will replace my lost Champ
GRUMPEE is online now Find More Posts by GRUMPEE
Last edited by GRUMPEE; Apr 21, 2012 at 08:31 PM. Reason: sorry wrong forum
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2012, 10:32 PM
No dear, That isn't New!
pattypilot's Avatar
United States, IL, Urbana
Joined Nov 2006
820 Posts
Sorry boys, no video! Lighting was not good enough! But the good news is she fly's!! I had to add a touch of nose weight. Maybe next Saturday I will be able to tape some laps?

Jim
pattypilot is offline Find More Posts by pattypilot
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 07:44 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
15 Posts
I know this might not make a hole lot of sense with just words and no pictures, but you epoxy a short (~1cm long) stock to the ar64000 board itself next to the servos you can rig them up to be pull/pull without having to use a bell crank. Doing this also helps to keep slack to a minimum.
WonkoTehSane is offline Find More Posts by WonkoTehSane
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 08:40 PM
No dear, That isn't New!
pattypilot's Avatar
United States, IL, Urbana
Joined Nov 2006
820 Posts
Your Right WTS, I'm not seeing it? I have no servos up top, the servo is in the top of the fuse, under the middle wing!
pattypilot is offline Find More Posts by pattypilot
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 22, 2012, 10:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2011
15 Posts
Ha, I knew it wouldn't make a hole lot of sense without a picture, so here is one. The line would be either tied around the servos linkage area or fixed to it with a small dab of glue, otherwise the pull/pull would not work. As you can see, my aileron servo is in the same place, under the wing in the fuse, the additional servo does not need anything extra to be used for pull/pull and is very easy to set up to do so.

WonkoTehSane is offline Find More Posts by WonkoTehSane
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 08:30 AM
Gravity is a harsh mistress.
Tim Wolff's Avatar
United States, MI, Temperance
Joined Sep 2002
6,600 Posts
Awesome setup for a pull-pull on these linear servos!
Tim Wolff is online now Find More Posts by Tim Wolff
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2012, 11:15 PM
-=BS=-
BlazingStar's Avatar
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Jul 2009
1,207 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by WonkoTehSane View Post
Ha, I knew it wouldn't make a hole lot of sense without a picture, so here is one. The line would be either tied around the servos linkage area or fixed to it with a small dab of glue, otherwise the pull/pull would not work. As you can see, my aileron servo is in the same place, under the wing in the fuse, the additional servo does not need anything extra to be used for pull/pull and is very easy to set up to do so.

sorry, I still don't get it. maybe a diagram would be better or a short closeup video of it running.
thanks
BlazingStar is online now Find More Posts by BlazingStar
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 07:07 AM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazingStar View Post
sorry, I still don't get it. maybe a diagram would be better or a short closeup video of it running.
thanks
The string goes around the post he glued to the board, changing the string's direction 180 degrees.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 08:59 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Jan 2007
1,203 Posts
DR-1 servo centering/Not

Have problems with rudder servo changing center position from flite to flite.
Any suggestions??
Tim
w4yn is offline Find More Posts by w4yn
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2012, 09:54 PM
No dear, That isn't New!
pattypilot's Avatar
United States, IL, Urbana
Joined Nov 2006
820 Posts
Tim, are you sure it hasn't come loose or broke? I've not had this issue?

Jim
pattypilot is offline Find More Posts by pattypilot
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 08:29 PM
No dear, That isn't New!
pattypilot's Avatar
United States, IL, Urbana
Joined Nov 2006
820 Posts
Ok, Today was the day! Sunshine outside, makes for a much better Video lighting inside! Here is my four channel Flyzone DR 1. using a long throw servo for control. She fly's pretty good, still working out some issues. I believe that I put a little to much right thrust on the motor? she needs way more Left rudder on take off than my stock plane. going to work on that, other than that, I love it! Now this may not be for everyone! It takes a plane thatís very docile and easy to fly and turns it into a plane you must fly with both sticks or she wont fly long!

Jim

My four channel Flyzone DR 1 (2 min 53 sec)
pattypilot is offline Find More Posts by pattypilot
Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2012, 09:01 PM
Registered User
wattman's Avatar
Evansville Dress Reg., Indiana, United States
Joined Jun 2004
1,101 Posts
Wow thats really nice , its just amazing what possible nowadays in Electric rc flying
I am anxious for the 4 channel SE5a RTF someday ..
wattman is offline Find More Posts by wattman
Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2012, 09:48 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Charlotte
Joined Jan 2007
1,203 Posts
Champ Gear Box Prop?

What is correct prop for those that have converted to Champ gear box?
Tim
w4yn is offline Find More Posts by w4yn
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2012, 06:40 PM
-=BS=-
BlazingStar's Avatar
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Jul 2009
1,207 Posts
Oh bummer...
My fun to fly Dr1 is grounded.
The motor cut in and out and finally quit.
I could get it going with a shove, but it wouldn't run long. And then finally no life in it at all.

I took the cowl and dumy motor off and removed removed the gear box.

That stock motor is tiny 7mmx14mm long, 2.6g The entire gearbox, motor and prop weighs 4.9g
Replacing with a P51 motor is out of the question. That motor alone is 4.9g It would not fit in the gearbox and the pinion would be wrong.
Soooo... what to do?
I'd rather not add a lot of weight with a bigger motor/GB and lose the floaty flying character of the plane.
Maybe I'll order a replacement stock motor?
Or maybe this GWJ 7mm motor . Although the price is rather steep...

Maybe one day all planes will come with brushless motors and save us the hassle...
BlazingStar is online now Find More Posts by BlazingStar
Last edited by BlazingStar; May 21, 2012 at 06:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Flyzone Albatros Mods thread D Johnson Micro Ready-to-Fly 783 Sep 10, 2014 03:07 PM
Discussion Flyzone DR1 raf37 Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 61 May 05, 2012 03:13 AM
Discussion Official Ragecam Gopro Lens Mod Thread. No more Sunex case mods or Fisheye daign Multirotor Talk 109 Jul 15, 2011 12:04 PM
Discussion Official Ragecam Gopro Lens Mod Thread. No more Sunex case mods daign FPV Talk 2 May 17, 2011 11:32 AM
Discussion Simple Hawk Sky mods + info thread chatch15117 Foamies (Kits) 2 Apr 26, 2011 12:49 AM