Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 31, 2012, 09:09 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,453 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfab View Post
HA!!!! You're showing our age.

On another note......Your replies to questions have ALWAYS been well thought out, accurate and usually supported by backup documentation. How could anyone with a clue get pi$$ed about that????

Please continue to be an avid supporter of these threads and this hobby.

Thanks,

Jeff
Thank you Jeff!!

I was always told if you can't dazzle em with your brilliance, baffle them with your B.S......

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:58 PM
Registered User
hertzrepkeith's Avatar
United States, CA, Hughson
Joined Jan 2012
1,091 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inverted-I-Fly View Post
halloween2012

10% off at 3dhs for halloween

Offer good October 31 thru November 3
I ordered a new plane 2 hours before the sale huh Golyflyer!
hertzrepkeith is online now Find More Posts by hertzrepkeith
Last edited by hertzrepkeith; Nov 01, 2012 at 12:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 07:51 PM
Pounding the Kool-Aid
Kurtzz's Avatar
First Hill of the Ozarks
Joined Dec 2008
196 Posts
I am trying to bind my 59" Slick to my brand spanking new DX8. I have about 50 flights on the 59 using my old DX7 with an AR7000 DSM2 receiver. It will actually bind and power the control surfaces in their center position but the transmitter sticks will not make the surfaces move at all. Same with motor...no spinny. I have reset the model in the DX8 several times and made sure it was transmitting in DSM2 and not DSMX. I have set up my 38" Slick, 42" Slick, a Habu 2 and a Trex 450SE V2 with the DX8 not a problem. Maybe my 59 is just pissed that I would switch transmitters on it and refuses to cooperate.

Help please

Kurtzz
Kurtzz is offline Find More Posts by Kurtzz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 08:08 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
26,453 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtzz View Post
I am trying to bind my 59" Slick to my brand spanking new DX8. I have about 50 flights on the 59 using my old DX7 with an AR7000 DSM2 receiver. It will actually bind and power the control surfaces in their center position but the transmitter sticks will not make the surfaces move at all. Same with motor...no spinny. I have reset the model in the DX8 several times and made sure it was transmitting in DSM2 and not DSMX. I have set up my 38" Slick, 42" Slick, a Habu 2 and a Trex 450SE V2 with the DX8 not a problem. Maybe my 59 is just pissed that I would switch transmitters on it and refuses to cooperate.

Help please

Kurtzz
Are you getting a solid orange light on the receiver(s), or are they flashing?

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 08:23 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
3,009 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtzz View Post
I am trying to bind my 59" Slick to my brand spanking new DX8. I have about 50 flights on the 59 using my old DX7 with an AR7000 DSM2 receiver. It will actually bind and power the control surfaces in their center position but the transmitter sticks will not make the surfaces move at all. Same with motor...no spinny. I have reset the model in the DX8 several times and made sure it was transmitting in DSM2 and not DSMX. I have set up my 38" Slick, 42" Slick, a Habu 2 and a Trex 450SE V2 with the DX8 not a problem. Maybe my 59 is just pissed that I would switch transmitters on it and refuses to cooperate.

Help please

Kurtzz
What's the PID of the dx8 in the battery compartment? Is it one of the ones in the product bulletin on HH's website?
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 08:26 PM
Team Hillbilly
tominator06's Avatar
United States, MD, Dundalk
Joined Feb 2009
3,492 Posts
Kurt try setting up another new model and see if it will bind to that? Do you have some sort of high speed servo setting enabled on regular servos? Just throwing ideas out there
tominator06 is offline Find More Posts by tominator06
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 08:33 PM
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
United States, PA, Allentown
Joined May 2011
3,009 Posts
Oh! And by the way, you don't need to set it to dsm2 mode if the rx is dsm2. In dsmx mode it will still bind to dsm2 receivers but will bind in dsmx mode if the rx is capable of dsmx. When you set it to dsm2 mode, you are forcing the radio to bind in dsm2 mode, even if the rx is dsmx capable.
zmonster97 is online now Find More Posts by zmonster97
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 09:04 PM
Pounding the Kool-Aid
Kurtzz's Avatar
First Hill of the Ozarks
Joined Dec 2008
196 Posts
Recievers are solid orange and have tried new models. I think I'm going to quit screwing with it tonight, charge up the 42" Slick and the Habu 2 for in the morning. It's strange that it would be giving me problems, but come to think of it the ESC is not arming the motor either. All I am getting are 4 tones when I plug the battery in the Ice 100 in, no tones that tell me the Scorpion is ready.

Kurtzz
Kurtzz is offline Find More Posts by Kurtzz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 02, 2012, 09:21 PM
doh!
ryan_m's Avatar
United States, AR, Little Rock
Joined May 2006
4,237 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtzz View Post
Recievers are solid orange and have tried new models. I think I'm going to quit screwing with it tonight, charge up the 42" Slick and the Habu 2 for in the morning. It's strange that it would be giving me problems, but come to think of it the ESC is not arming the motor either. All I am getting are 4 tones when I plug the battery in the Ice 100 in, no tones that tell me the Scorpion is ready.

Kurtzz
bring that rx tomorrow, we can try binding it to my dsmx capable 9503 and see if it works with that tx. And Landon will have his dx8 too, we can try binding to his dx8 maybe as well.
ryan_m is online now Find More Posts by ryan_m
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 05:43 PM
Pounding the Kool-Aid
Kurtzz's Avatar
First Hill of the Ozarks
Joined Dec 2008
196 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurtzz View Post
Recievers are solid orange and have tried new models. I think I'm going to quit screwing with it tonight, charge up the 42" Slick and the Habu 2 for in the morning. It's strange that it would be giving me problems, but come to think of it the ESC is not arming the motor either. All I am getting are 4 tones when I plug the battery in the Ice 100 in, no tones that tell me the Scorpion is ready.

Kurtzz
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan_m View Post
bring that rx tomorrow, we can try binding it to my dsmx capable 9503 and see if it works with that tx. And Landon will have his dx8 too, we can try binding to his dx8 maybe as well.
Got it fixed, popped a JR 9 CH in it and worked first time. Spektrum DX7 and AR 7000 heading to the shop.

Kurtzz
Kurtzz is offline Find More Posts by Kurtzz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 05:52 PM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,154 Posts
A guy at our field has a ZDZ 50 CC and Rexcell Ignition. When the ignition wire is near or touching the muffler and he throttles up the controls surfaces go crazy. When he centers the ignition wire between the mufflers all is normal. He's using a Specktrum 2.4 reciever. We tried disconecting the throttle servo lead from the reciever and operate the throttle by hand and it does the same thing. Also disconnected his choke servo from the reciever, making no differance. Anyone have a cure for his ills?
goflyhighrc is online now Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 03, 2012, 06:03 PM
BANG IT!!!
DaOldGuy's Avatar
United States, PA, Bellefonte
Joined Dec 2007
12,185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goflyhighrc View Post
A guy at our field has a ZDZ 50 CC and Rexcell Ignition. When the ignition wire is near or touching the muffler and he throttles up the controls surfaces go crazy. When he centers the ignition wire between the mufflers all is normal. He's using a Specktrum 2.4 reciever. We tried disconecting the throttle servo lead from the reciever and operate the throttle by hand and it does the same thing. Also disconnected his choke servo from the reciever, making no differance. Anyone have a cure for his ills?
Try relocating the Ignition and Ign Bat away from all other wiring, maybe put it all in the muffler tunnel.
DaOldGuy is online now Find More Posts by DaOldGuy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2012, 08:06 AM
Team 3DHS / Team JR
Bivens's Avatar
United States, TN, Knoxville
Joined Apr 2010
4,421 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by goflyhighrc View Post
A guy at our field has a ZDZ 50 CC and Rexcell Ignition. When the ignition wire is near or touching the muffler and he throttles up the controls surfaces go crazy. When he centers the ignition wire between the mufflers all is normal. He's using a Specktrum 2.4 reciever. We tried disconecting the throttle servo lead from the reciever and operate the throttle by hand and it does the same thing. Also disconnected his choke servo from the reciever, making no differance. Anyone have a cure for his ills?
Are you running a "good" plug like a CM6?

Barring that, I'd suggest that it's something in that ignition and attempt swapping it out to see if the problem goes away. I've never had trouble from DA or DLE ignitions like that.....like it is making a lot more noise than "normal".
Bivens is offline Find More Posts by Bivens
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 04, 2012, 09:11 AM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,154 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bivens View Post
Are you running a "good" plug like a CM6?

Barring that, I'd suggest that it's something in that ignition and attempt swapping it out to see if the problem goes away. I've never had trouble from DA or DLE ignitions like that.....like it is making a lot more noise than "normal".

It's a buddy's plane, this is the second ignition he's tried.
goflyhighrc is online now Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Last edited by goflyhighrc; Nov 04, 2012 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 05, 2012, 05:27 PM
HIBDON FOR PRESIDENT !!
goflyhighrc's Avatar
Modesto, CA
Joined Nov 2006
3,154 Posts
Nice turn around by AJ

Been trying the turn around AJ does at the 1:57 mark, man it's pretty but I can't seem to get it. Would anyone know or fiqure out the stick movements for it?




71slick01.wmv (3 min 37 sec)
goflyhighrc is online now Find More Posts by goflyhighrc
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Unofficial NQD Tear Into Jet Boat Mod Thread Energy Racing Boats - Electric 11902 Yesterday 09:20 PM
Discussion Banana Hobby Customer Support Request/Q and A Thread! banana hobby Banana Hobby 1115 Aug 15, 2014 01:15 PM
Discussion The Official AirWare Q&A Thread AndyKunz Radios 95 Feb 14, 2013 08:36 AM
Discussion THE FIRST UNOFFICIAL Parkzone Sukhoi mods thread!!!! bluemeane Micro Ready-to-Fly 27 Aug 17, 2009 11:23 PM
Megatech H2O unofficial thread and first rewiew. grk65 Racing Boats - Electric 7 Mar 05, 2007 12:09 AM