HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 06, 2012, 09:29 PM
Total Noob
United States, CA, Yucaipa
Joined Nov 2008
542 Posts
Discussion
Foam Fumes (Toxic?)

So, this is something that I began looking into after completing my foam cutter:
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...3#post20664310

OutcastZeroOne has mentioned:

Quote:
make sure you have good ventalation so you stick around long enough to tell us about all your projects :P

So I went into a little bit of a research mode:

I'll just post what I had there:
-------------------------------------------------
Heh, yeah. I keep the garage door opened when I use it. I also purchased http://www.harborfreight.com/p95-mai...tor-66554.html a while back.

It says it can protect up to 95% of organic vapors... From my research, it's pretty much anything that contains carbon. So in theory is can protect against foam's chemical fumes. An external oxygen supply one would probably be better... but I'm sure those are very expensive. I'll do a little bit of research. Unless someone knows more on this subject matter?

Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Organic_compound

EDIT:

List of Organic Vapors:

http://www.assaytech.com/quickck.html

Another interesting thing I've read:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polystyrene

Quote:
Degradation