HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 05, 2012, 03:52 AM
United States, UT, Logan
Joined Feb 2012
76 Posts
Discussion
using a 6 channel Tx (Dx6i) for a 3 Channel trainer / switching rudder stick

-background story- (if you want to understand my question better)
I'm new in the hobby and this is my first post on the site, so bear with me. I recently grabbed an ancient old balsa 3 channel trainer that has been sitting in my parents house for ages, from my first attempt when i failed to get into rc planes, I'm now older and have some more experience and have been learning on some UM planes and just started flying some bigger stuff, then i remembered that old balsa trainer i had, i found it at my parents house, and took it out, it had stopped working on my all those years ago, and i didn't know why, but me being older, and much better at working with planes I quickly found the problem and fixed it, so i now had this old working plane, but it had an old 72 Rx in it, no being sure if old stuff would work with new stuff i plugged it all into a spektrum Rx and presto, it came to life, and was now bound to my dx6i, but there is a problem, and now that you have the background story here is my actually question

-actual question

a 3 channel trainer usually has the rudder on the right stick, when i plugged this badboy in my rudder of course was controlled by my left stick, like it should be on a 6 channel rx, my question is what is the correct way to move my rudder control back to the right stick for flying this particular plane?

I have found a few work arounds but i want to know if there is a "right" way to do it. my first work around was to mix my rudder with my aileron, which for this plane doesn't exist. workaround 2 was to simply plug the rudder into the aileron channel. both of these worked, but me being sort of new i just wanted to ask here if that is an okay way to go around it, or if you guys would recommend a different way.