HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 01, 2012, 09:14 AM
Joined Jan 2012
10 Posts
Help!
Just starting out but I want the best

I want to get into 3D Helicopter flying as a hobby but I have no flying experience yet, other than a $20 micro heli. 3d flying is my ultimate goal but I want to start with a heli I can build my skills with. I'm not really worried about the cost as long as it lasts and I don't have to sell and upgrade constantly. I have clear paddock about 4000m2 to practice on next to my house.

Here a my thoughts about getting started. Please correct or add anything you think would be helpful.

A. To start with I was thinking a Blade MSR
I can use it to fly indoors and get the hang of things with it outdoors.

B. For the TX I was thinking a Spektrum DX7
I can use it for 3D flying and a PC simulator.

C. Once I get the hang of things I want to get a ALIGN T-REX 600E PRO Flybarless Super Combo
This seems like a good all round heli and I've seen heaps of youtube clips of some very impressive 3D flying.

1. Are my choices for A,B,C a good starting point? Does anyone have any better ideas.

2. Is there a another heli I should get to practice with before getting the T-Rex 600e? Or is the 600 okay for a beginner to go to after many hours on the sim?

3. What's the best sim program to use?

I just don't want to buy something I will outgrow in terms of ability. I'm trying to be economical and I see myself sticking with this hobby so I want to get the best from the start.
Crash Expert is offline Find More Posts by Crash Expert
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2012, 10:12 AM
Hong Kong
Joined Jan 2010
6,246 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crash Expert View Post