SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 13, 2012, 03:50 PM
stvinvegas's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Dec 2006
505 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas b View Post
the 9 channel rx to be supplied with the dx18 makes perfect sense to me.

The average customer will very rarely, if ever, use this tx with a model needing more han 9 channels. The average customer will buy this radio for many reasons related to the features of the radiom and the large number of channels is only one of the many features.

Supplying the 9 channel rx helps the radio achive a lower suggested retail and street price and is not an odd choice at all. I am perfectly willing to buy a 12 channel rx and the expansion device when i need one for a particular model.
+1 I was gonna say almost the same thing!!
stvinvegas is offline Find More Posts by stvinvegas
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 13, 2012, 04:06 PM
Suspended Account
Rhode Island USA
Joined Aug 2010
5,350 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victory Pete View Post
A lot of what Spektrum does can be defined as "Odd".

VP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas B View Post
The 9 channel RX to be supplied with the DX18 makes perfect sense to me.

The average customer will very rarely, if ever, use this TX with a model needing more han 9 channels. The average customer will buy this radio for many reasons related to the features of the radiom and the large number of channels is only one of the many features.

Supplying the 9 channel RX helps the radio achive a lower suggested retail and street price and is not an odd choice at all. I am perfectly willing to buy a 12 channel RX and the expansion device when I need one for a particular model.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatBird View Post
My perspective:

No radio manufacturer is really trying to do you a favor when they package a TX with a RX or servos. They are putting a RX that costs them $20 to make into the box, and hoping that you value it at the retail price of $150 and thus feel that $800 is a good price for the package. Put another way, if they took it out, the price certainly wouldn't drop by $150.

So it really comes down to what most people will want. 9ch receivers are a sweet spot - small enough to fit in a big sailplane, and enough channels for most of what people fly. It is sort of too bad that you can't pick your RX, but obviously that would add more cost than it's worth.

Bill
Quote:
Originally Posted by stvinvegas View Post
+1 I was gonna say almost the same thing!!
Okay, so this example isnt really "Odd".

VP
Victory Pete is offline Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 13, 2012, 05:11 PM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CatBird View Post
So it really comes down to what most people will want. 9ch receivers are a sweet spot - small enough to fit in a big sailplane, and enough channels for most of what people fly. It is sort of too bad that you can't pick your RX, but obviously that would add more cost than it's worth.
I tend to buy from retailers who un-bundle these packages and sell the tx on its own.

The more HH put in the box the cheaper the tx gets from my point of view

I won't be in the queue for a DX18 though.
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 06:22 PM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
Tucson, AZ
Joined Aug 2004
877 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telrin View Post

I won't be in the queue for a DX18 though.
Is this because of a bad experience with the DX8 hardware quality?
teryn1 is offline Find More Posts by teryn1
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 08:04 PM
Detail Freak
target's Avatar
Harbor City, CA
Joined Oct 2003
21,551 Posts
I hope that switching model memories is quicker and easier than on the 11x....

Does anyone know??

R,
Target

Anyone know what is involved to swich from one model to another? The 11x is somewhat painful, especially considering that you can switch between the first three models with one button being held down at powerup on the Airtronics SD10G.....

R,
Target
target is offline Find More Posts by target
Last edited by target; May 13, 2012 at 10:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 13, 2012, 08:14 PM
Registered User
keris's Avatar
Malaysia, Perak, Taiping
Joined Jan 2012
241 Posts
sorry to intrup guys nowday who want the rx (for heli) when spektrum come with AR7200bx i think this combine will be great DX18 + AR7200bx...

cheers
keris is offline Find More Posts by keris
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 12:39 AM
Registered User
San Jose, CA USA
Joined Oct 1999
105 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
I hope that switching model memories is quicker and easier than on the 11x....

Anyone know what is involved to swich from one model to another? The 11x is somewhat painful, especially considering that you can switch between the first three models with one button being held down at powerup on the Airtronics SD10G.....

R,
Target
I have an 11x and I would not call switching models "painful". The only thing I dont like about it is having the TX ask about turning off the RF while doing it, and if you say "no" then you are back at the system menu and have to try again.

Having easy access to only 3 models is kind of useless to me, since the model I want to pick would hardly ever be in those 3.

I assume that you know that holding down the roller at power up gets you right into the system menu, one item away from the model select item.

Bob
parky is offline Find More Posts by parky
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 03:11 AM
Registered User
Central California
Joined Dec 2006
2,459 Posts
I assume the DX18 will have the same model switching scheme as the DX10t.
Pressing the roller while powering up or using the clear&back to get Direct Model Access.Same as DX8 and 7s.
Pretty simple.
aerocal is offline Find More Posts by aerocal
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 06:10 AM
Registered User
Dallas, TX
Joined Jan 2010
753 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by teryn1 View Post
Is this because of a bad experience with the DX8 hardware quality?
Not directly no, although I would say that Spektrum have more to prove in terms of build quality as they move up to compete against more sophisticated radios with the DX18.

I use my DX8 for all my BnF models and they are not likely to ever need a DX18 and for my larger models I already use a Futaba 8FG which provides the flexibility and channels the DX8 lacked.

Since I've not yet come up against a problem I couldn't solve with the 8FG and its 12+2 channels, I personally don't have a need for a DX18
Telrin is offline Find More Posts by Telrin
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 06:54 AM
Detail Freak
target's Avatar
Harbor City, CA
Joined Oct 2003
21,551 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by parky View Post
I have an 11x and I would not call switching models "painful". The only thing I dont like about it is having the TX ask about turning off the RF while doing it, and if you say "no" then you are back at the system menu and have to try again.

Having easy access to only 3 models is kind of useless to me, since the model I want to pick would hardly ever be in those 3.

I assume that you know that holding down the roller at power up gets you right into the system menu, one item away from the model select item.

Bob
Thanks Bob.
No, I didn't know that, and yes, its the TX asking if I want to shut down the RF, and the default being "no" that I find painful.

Apparently, on the Airtronics radio, you can just hold down a 1, 2, or 3 button on power up, and it selects 1, 2, or 3 model.
I guess that you can also move the models as needed in the list to allow you to have the most popular three at the time in 1, 2, and 3 spots.

This is useful to me. I am a sailplane pilot and often bring (you guessed it) 3 planes to the field to fly for the day.
The 11X is a great radio for me, mix-wise.
Its that one issue that I find tiresome.

R,
Target
target is offline Find More Posts by target
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 08:15 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,378 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
I hope that switching model memories is quicker and easier than on the 11x....

Does anyone know??
I don't know about the 11X, but on the DX7s, DX8, DX10t, and DX18 all you do is press CLEAR and BACK at the same time from the main screen, select the new model, and click OK.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 09:29 AM
Detail Freak
target's Avatar
Harbor City, CA
Joined Oct 2003
21,551 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
I don't know about the 11X, but on the DX7s, DX8, DX10t, and DX18 all you do is press CLEAR and BACK at the same time from the main screen, select the new model, and click OK.

Andy
Thanks, Andy-

I will certainly try that shortcut (on the 11X, and if it works, report back) when I get back to my Tx.

R,
Target
target is offline Find More Posts by target
Last edited by target; May 14, 2012 at 09:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 09:34 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,378 Posts
If it doesn't work, something is broken! It's been in these radios since before version 1.0!

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 10:01 AM
Registered User
Grand Rapids, MI
Joined Jun 2005
1,430 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by target View Post
I hope that switching model memories is quicker and easier than on the 11x....

Does anyone know??

R,
Target

Anyone know what is involved to swich from one model to another? The 11x is somewhat painful, especially considering that you can switch between the first three models with one button being held down at powerup on the Airtronics SD10G.....

R,
Target
I held a dx18 @ Weak Signals and it seemed easy enough to switch models. You could do it on power-up like they are now, or in a menu after its powered on.

Has anyone compared the DX18 to a JR 9503? I'd be interested to see some pros/cons between them.
Hornetnz is online now Find More Posts by Hornetnz
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 2012, 10:11 AM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
6,861 Posts
simply put -The DX18 is a LOT more simple
The 9503 has engaged switches which have to be inhibited -basically it is awkward to program.
richard hanson is online now Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum DSM2 and the Nats - Question for Spektrum/JR users aeajr Sailplane Talk 25 May 29, 2012 03:14 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 20, 2011 05:12 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Dec 14, 2011 07:30 PM
For Sale Spektrum & JR 2.4 Ghz DSM2 receivers for sale I have a sailplane sized Spektrum AR93 zaptherio Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 15, 2011 05:14 PM
Sold SPEKTRUM DX6i DSMX with Spektrum Ni-cads and charger- like new condition shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 19, 2011 04:59 AM