SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:00 AM
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
United States, NY, Rochester
Joined Apr 2004
1,156 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
DX18FC stands for DX18 FreeChip - it comes with buit in programmer.
And a Dock with a Monitor, Keyboard, Mouse, and External Hard Drive.
Buschbarber is offline Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:14 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Not true, just kidding amongst ourselves. topgearuk started it, we're just running it in circles

Andy
Actually you will find I never started anything.. As this has been talked about for days and I mentioned it a few hours ago..

But by your reply it seems that this is untrue
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:17 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
United Kingdom, London
Joined Dec 2003
3,272 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
topgear! we need more info! hahahaha.
Call your source, meet in some shady parking lot, and let him spill his guts!
I never said it was true, I just heard it was a rumour that's all....
There is no need to be condescending
topgearuk is offline Find More Posts by topgearuk
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 10:31 AM
Registered User
struggleforlife's Avatar
The Netherlands, LI, Gennep
Joined Feb 2011
1,874 Posts
condescending?
My god, this is just making fun man. Cheer up dude.
struggleforlife is online now Find More Posts by struggleforlife
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:03 AM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
714 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
That is true. We do not have a tool to transfer them. Fortunately most of the numbers come directly across, so you can copy from one to the other pretty easily.

Andy
I guess my question isn't about transferring the models. If I pulled the SD card out of a DX8 and put it in a DX18 will I still have all the models?
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:04 AM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
24,379 Posts
You can't transfer DX8 model to the DX18 or I should say there not compatible.
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:15 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,864 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen View Post
I guess my question isn't about transferring the models. If I pulled the SD card out of a DX8 and put it in a DX18 will I still have all the models?
The SD card is a "backup" media, not the primary storage of models. You can pull the card out and you will still have 30 models in the transmitter.

You can put the card into your DX18 and do stuff like saving models, but you won't be able to import DX8 models into your DX18 (or DX18 into DX8).

If you are going to use 1 card for both transmitters, I suggest you create separate folders for DX8 and DX18. That's how I keep mine apart. I keep versions of models in folders named by the date and radio type.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:16 AM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
8,737 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
condescending?
My god, this is just making fun man. Cheer up dude.
In that light how about a "VP" version?
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:27 AM
wjs
William
United States, MI, Brighton
Joined Oct 2012
1,966 Posts
I think it would be a "simple" mater to make a small conversion script if someone is in to that. I thought someone was doing and import and PC interface for the model files. That would be an easy place to export to the dx18 format I suppose.
wjs is offline Find More Posts by wjs
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:29 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,864 Posts
If it was that simple I would have done it a long time ago.

Andy
AndyKunz is online now Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:33 AM
Registered User
struggleforlife's Avatar
The Netherlands, LI, Gennep
Joined Feb 2011
1,874 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnathanSwift View Post
In that light how about a "VP" version?
...that version will have a huge screen, with gigantic trim buttons! hahaha
struggleforlife is online now Find More Posts by struggleforlife
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:35 AM
wjs
William
United States, MI, Brighton
Joined Oct 2012
1,966 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
If it was that simple I would have done it a long time ago.

Andy
Is it the parsing or the mapping that is the issue? I don't have the file specs, so can't tell at the moment.
wjs is offline Find More Posts by wjs
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:42 AM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar
Culpeper, VA
Joined Oct 2005
714 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
The SD card is a "backup" media, not the primary storage of models. You can pull the card out and you will still have 30 models in the transmitter.

You can put the card into your DX18 and do stuff like saving models, but you won't be able to import DX8 models into your DX18 (or DX18 into DX8).

If you are going to use 1 card for both transmitters, I suggest you create separate folders for DX8 and DX18. That's how I keep mine apart. I keep versions of models in folders named by the date and radio type.

Andy
Thanks Andy....that clears things up for me.
RC_Feen is offline Find More Posts by RC_Feen
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:51 AM
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Canada, ON, Ottawa
Joined Oct 2010
3,698 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjs View Post
....I thought someone was doing and import and PC interface for the model files....
Somebody was but it is incomplete, non functional, and has gone stagnant.

https://sites.google.com/site/txprofilemanager/
davidmc36 is online now Find More Posts by davidmc36
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 23, 2013, 11:56 AM
Stop scaring my donkey!
JohnathanSwift's Avatar
Greenland
Joined Mar 2012
8,737 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
...that version will have a huge screen, with gigantic trim buttons! hahaha
With a gimp battery!
JohnathanSwift is offline Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum DSM2 and the Nats - Question for Spektrum/JR users aeajr Sailplane Talk 25 May 29, 2012 04:14 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 20, 2011 06:12 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Dec 14, 2011 08:30 PM
For Sale Spektrum & JR 2.4 Ghz DSM2 receivers for sale I have a sailplane sized Spektrum AR93 zaptherio Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 15, 2011 06:14 PM
Sold SPEKTRUM DX6i DSMX with Spektrum Ni-cads and charger- like new condition shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 19, 2011 05:59 AM