HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:22 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined May 2012
309 Posts
Deleted/Double Post.
rcmaniac098202 is offline Find More Posts by rcmaniac098202
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2013, 07:24 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined May 2012
309 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilatus mike View Post
Here is a recently converted (this morning) Parkzone UM Spitfire. I have used an AP05 Brushless out runner, XP-7A 2s esc, 7.4v 120mah Hyperion 20c. I moved the board and the aileron servo backward about 5mm, this allowed the 7.4v to squeeze between the firewall and the front of the board. I inserted a small acetate plate between the new battery compartment and the front of the board to avoid touching the Elev/Rudd servos. The ESC is mounted above the aileron servo and this layout has given me a C of G in the same place as when it was 1s. It weighs 57.5g (with battery) as opposed to the 1s 46.8g. I have no idea about any of the black art of amp draw etc but it's same set up in my PZ Sukhoi SU26m with the exception of the propeller (5x4.3) The only other modifications are a pilot, radio mast, smoothing the wing fillets, weathering and the G-NF markings of 249 Gold coast Squadron as a tribute to my Great Uncle.
It may not be to everyones taste, 2s, but after flying it as a 1s and as great as it was I am sure it will be much much more just like my Sukhoi was.
You can get the information on how to change the second aileron port into an esc port from Spektrum website (manuals) use the AR6400 manual.
If the board messes about and wont re bind then reset everything on the TX (Dx6i) and try again, this worked for me.
Now Parkzone/E Flite I need a 2s brushless FW190d or BF109 so my Spit can show them how it's done!
Here ya go, so you don't have to flip back 50 pages.
rcmaniac098202 is offline Find More Posts by rcmaniac098202
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:59 PM
Registered User
dude_109's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Jan 2008
5,772 Posts
Would that brush less work with a 1s lipo? Just wanting to keep the weight low...
dude_109 is offline Find More Posts by dude_109
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2013, 10:07 PM
Power Wheels Guru
UNGN's Avatar
Southlake, TX
Joined Jan 2008
7,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_109 View Post
Would that brush less work with a 1s lipo? Just wanting to keep the weight low...
Most 1S Brushless setups won't make as much Power as the stock 8.4mm Brushed motor (because its geared), and those that do will be total amp hogs cutting flight times in 1/2.

More volts (2S) means less amps for the same power, increasing power and extending flight times.
UNGN is offline Find More Posts by UNGN
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 04:00 AM
Registered User
pilatus mike's Avatar
London, England
Joined Apr 2007
204 Posts
Thank you rcmaniac, you can get a 1 cell AP03 amongst others but as UNGN says it really isn't worth it. My Spitfire isn't massively affected by the extra 10g and can still be flown at a slow jogging pace into a light headwind (3-6mph) with the AS3X working overtime and it's very stable at these low speeds.
pilatus mike is offline Find More Posts by pilatus mike
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:44 AM
Master of Micro Modding
valiantGLX's Avatar
Australia, SA, Burra
Joined Sep 2011
2,661 Posts
New BLH3904 BL UM gearbox conversion thread

valiantGLX is online now Find More Posts by valiantGLX
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:46 AM
Registered User
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Oct 2010
1,864 Posts
That gearbox is interesting, looking to see how powerful the geared setup is coupled with the weight compared to the 2S setup.
IndyMatt is offline Find More Posts by IndyMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:00 PM
Registered User
dude_109's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Jan 2008
5,772 Posts
Big Brown Truck is coming Monday with my first AS3X!!!

So newbie question (I've kept up with this thread from the start but will go back and reread eventually): Do I do any trimming on the TX or will AS3X take care of it all? I assume, I'll do sub-trim to get all of the control surfaces flush as my set up, make sure the control surfaces are moving and auto correcting in the proper direction. Then just fly?
dude_109 is offline Find More Posts by dude_109
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:20 PM
Registered User
Indianapolis, IN
Joined Oct 2010
1,864 Posts
There are U bends in the control rods that you use to center the control surfaces. After you take her up you made need to make few minor adjustments to the RODS. You really don't want to trim using the TX on AS3X as it takes it as a control input.
IndyMatt is offline Find More Posts by IndyMatt
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:23 PM
Exodus 4:13
bhoov128's Avatar
United States, FL, Davenport
Joined May 2012
8,786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dude_109 View Post
Big Brown Truck is coming Monday with my first AS3X!!!

So newbie question (I've kept up with this thread from the start but will go back and reread eventually): Do I do any trimming on the TX or will AS3X take care of it all? I assume, I'll do sub-trim to get all of the control surfaces flush as my set up, make sure the control surfaces are moving and auto correcting in the proper direction. Then just fly?
From what I've read, sub-trim is a no-no with AS3X. Mechanically trim the plane with the control rods.
bhoov128 is online now Find More Posts by bhoov128
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Snice Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 02:56 PM
Registered User
dude_109's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Jan 2008
5,772 Posts
That's right. Forgot about the u-bends...my first experience with that too. Good thing I asked.
dude_109 is offline Find More Posts by dude_109
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 08:59 PM
Registered User
brushless55's Avatar
United States, CO, Longmont
Joined Nov 2011
3,530 Posts
Has anyone tried a mCPX lipo in this plane?
I used a 300mah 45/90c for some static tests, and this motor with the 4 blade reved up much higher !
brushless55 is online now Find More Posts by brushless55
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 09:52 PM
Exodus 4:13
bhoov128's Avatar
United States, FL, Davenport
Joined May 2012
8,786 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilatus mike View Post
Now Parkzone/E Flite I need a 2s brushless FW190d or BF109 so my Spit can show them how it's done!
uuuugggghhhhh if they gave me a FW190 I'd eat ramen for two weeks and buy it immediately
bhoov128 is online now Find More Posts by bhoov128
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Snice Slick
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:31 PM
-=BS=-
BlazingStar's Avatar
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Jul 2009
1,196 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhoov128 View Post
uuuugggghhhhh if they gave me a FW190 I'd eat ramen for two weeks and buy it immediately
That's my normal diet anyway, but a Butcher Bird would be sweeeeeeet

(Ahem..... Brushless)
BlazingStar is offline Find More Posts by BlazingStar
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 01, 2013, 10:47 PM
Southern MN USA
meltor's Avatar
Joined Jun 2012
393 Posts
i would like to see the FW190 or the BF109 as well.
meltor is offline Find More Posts by meltor
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product E-flite UMX MiG 15 Ducted Fan Jet with AS3X Bowerz Micro Ready-to-Fly 138 Jul 19, 2014 03:58 PM
Article Horizon Hobby Blade mQX Micro Quad-Copter with AS3X RTF & BNF Review Michael Heer Multirotor Talk 30 Feb 22, 2013 08:47 AM
New Product E-Flite UMX Mig 15 with AS3X! Bowerz Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 4 Jan 16, 2012 07:02 PM
Discussion UMX S-Bach or Beast 3d (with AS3X)? The Spirit 3D Foamies 6 Jan 07, 2012 05:41 AM
Sold Eflite UMX Beast 3D BNF with AS3X Technology baddb1 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Dec 19, 2011 05:42 AM