Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:29 AM
Registered User
United States, MA, Rutland
Joined Oct 2011
189 Posts
Thanks guys -
@silentPilot - sorry - forgot to mention I replaced prop with brand new balanced prop. The one that hit the tree was not salvageable.

No time for testing until at least Wednesday - will crack the fuse and see if there's anything obviously distorted in there too...
ScottGridley is offline Find More Posts by ScottGridley
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 18, 2012, 08:56 AM
Registered User
Jam-ehz's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Sep 2004
75 Posts
Found one slight flaw with the newly hollowed fuselage.

The Velcro strip is attached to a 1/8" thick square of foam instead of a solid block. A crash into the dirt flung my 300mah MA further into the body, and the Velcro won out over the foam.

I guess I'll have to find a way to reinforce that patch next time.
Jam-ehz is offline Find More Posts by Jam-ehz
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2012, 10:34 PM
Just one more landing, okay?
chaz4jc's Avatar
United States, UT, Hooper
Joined Jun 2012
34 Posts
Cover the bottoms of your floats with clear packaging tape. It makes flying off of snow a snap.
chaz4jc is offline Find More Posts by chaz4jc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:54 AM
BMFA 190658
SilentPilot's Avatar
United Kingdom, Yeadon
Joined Mar 2007
3,993 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaz4jc View Post
Cover the bottoms of your floats with clear packaging tape. It makes flying off of snow a snap.
You can Snap Roll off snow?
SilentPilot is online now Find More Posts by SilentPilot
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LemonRx V3 stab in Parkzone Ka8
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 09:37 AM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,533 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentPilot View Post
You can Snap Roll off snow?
Only once!

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 20, 2012, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
46 Posts
Hey all, just bought my cub. Tryong to come up with a pull pull system for the eleavator. Anyone with any advice?
jaredeshadoan is offline Find More Posts by jaredeshadoan
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 10:16 PM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,533 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredeshadoan View Post
Hey all, just bought my cub. Tryong to come up with a pull pull system for the eleavator. Anyone with any advice?
A pull-pull setup is not feasible with a linear servo. You'd have switch to the AS6410NBL servoless brick & use a nano-size rotary servo.

BTW - is that a cargo pod under your CC?

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 20, 2012, 10:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
3,771 Posts
Hey Joel, don't see you around the Edge 540 thread, aren't you going to get one. You're missing a great little plane if you don't.
bobly is offline Find More Posts by bobly
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:47 AM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,533 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobly View Post
Hey Joel, don't see you around the Edge 540 thread, aren't you going to get one. You're missing a great little plane if you don't.
Bobly,

I would get one, but it's too big for my yard & it's too big for our indoor spot. I'd have to go to the club field to fly it, however it won't handle the wind anywhere near as well as the Beast 3D & SBach 3D. So for me, it's an awkward size.

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:07 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
3,771 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turboparker View Post
Bobly,

I would get one, but it's too big for my yard & it's too big for our indoor spot. I'd have to go to the club field to fly it, however it won't handle the wind anywhere near as well as the Beast 3D & SBach 3D. So for me, it's an awkward size.

Joel
Joel, for me, yard flying is more a factor of the speed the plane must be flown at rather than the size of the plane and my skill level, and based on the video's of your yard flying and apparent size of area along with your abilities, neither of those should be any problem for this one with you. I believe it can be flown slower than the sbach but probably not the beast. I am not an indoor flyer at all, so can't comment there, except that I wouldn't attempt the sbach indoors for sure. It will take off grass that the um's wouldn't have a chance. You may be right on the wind, but I don't like flying in wind anyway, especially in the yard. I maidened my Edge in about 6 mph and it didn't even know it was there.
bobly is offline Find More Posts by bobly
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:11 AM
Registered User
PeteSchug's Avatar
Elmhurst, NY (Queens in NYC)
Joined Apr 2004
7,022 Posts
Retro time.

I just dug out my DX-6i so I can use my Carbon Cub as a glider tug.

I remember a whole slew of stuff on programming this Tx for the Cub, but when I try do do a search I get too much information.

Can anyone give me a link to a good setup that can be input manually?

Pete
PeteSchug is offline Find More Posts by PeteSchug
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by PeteSchug; Nov 21, 2012 at 07:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:05 AM
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
United States, IA, Grinnell
Joined Aug 2007
4,011 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteSchug View Post
Retro time.

I just dug out my DX-6i so I can use my Carbon Cub as a glider tug.

I remember a whole slew of stuff on programming this Tx for the Cub, but when I try do do a search I get too much information.

Can anyone give me a link to a good setup that can be input manually?

Pete
Can't you use the 6i in your glider?
Rn
A Rdnek is offline Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:21 AM
Registered User
PeteSchug's Avatar
Elmhurst, NY (Queens in NYC)
Joined Apr 2004
7,022 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by A Rdnek View Post
Can't you use the 6i in your glider?
Rn
I could, but I'd rather use my good Tx on the plane I want to fly.

Pete
PeteSchug is offline Find More Posts by PeteSchug
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Some Books About Flying
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:17 PM
The sky is my playground.
Dora Nine's Avatar
United States, NH
Joined May 2005
7,634 Posts
In stock at Horizon and finally ordered.
Dora Nine is offline Find More Posts by Dora Nine
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 06:42 PM
Registered User
Dirty Dee's Avatar
United States, IL, Northbrook
Joined Sep 2011
526 Posts
Just picked one up today.

what battery is everyone running? Stock, or is there a larger capacity that works well?
Dirty Dee is online now Find More Posts by Dirty Dee
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article Horizon Hobby E-flite UMX Sbach 342 BNF Review sun.flyer Micro Ready-to-Fly 47 Nov 09, 2013 05:41 AM
Build Log Scratchbuild (STOL) Carbon Cub SS - built with carbon fibre tubes Phaeton Scale Kit/Scratch Built 183 Jul 29, 2013 09:45 AM
Alert BREAKING NEWS: Horizon Hobby Mig-15 UMX gp125racer Other Websites 2 Jan 17, 2012 02:08 PM
Sold Horizon hobby carbon-z- yak with extras matthew james Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Apr 11, 2011 06:33 AM