SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Jan 31, 2012, 10:46 PM
United Kingdom, Cumb
Joined Jan 2012
7 Posts
Discussion
Help with my Gaui 500x with 330x power set, scorpion motor problem

Hi everyone, great forum I am in the uk and mainly fly fixed wing but I am just getting into Quadcopters and loving what they can do!

I had a gaui 330x-s kit for Christmas, the newer one with scorpion motors. While flying it a couple of weeks ago I lost control as it suddenly dived to the floor and crashed. As a new quad pilot I assumed it was my fault and went to inspect the wreckage :frown:

1 broken arm and 2 broken props.

I decided to take the opportunity to upgrade to the 500x airframe which seems to be a much easier design than the 330x and it folds for storage

The build went well, so I decided to take it to work to test fly in a larger garage (in my lunch break of course ) after about 2 minutes of trimming and hovering, the quad made a funny sqeeeek and tipped over, crashing to the floor :frown: when I picked it up it was un-damaged but one of the motors was much hotter than the others! I held it by the skids and applied throttle and after a few seconds the hot motor squeaked and stopped..!

So, I don't think it was pilot error that caused it to crash in the first place, and the original 330xs kit was new at Christmas.

Has anyone else had a problem with scorpion/gaui motors failing, and do you think I should seek a replacement from my LHS?

Cheers, Dave.
dwazzer is offline Find More Posts by dwazzer
Last edited by dwazzer; Feb 01, 2012 at 11:52 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 01, 2012, 02:59 AM
÷sterreich, O÷, Linz
Joined Oct 2011
52 Posts
Check Motorbearings, i had to change all of them because they went bad after 5 flights.
Check for broken motorcables, had those aswell on my 330X.

Markus
Azrael82 is offline Find More Posts by Azrael82
Old Feb 01, 2012, 09:06 AM
http://gothelirc.com/
United States, AZ, Chandler
Joined Dec 2011
624 Posts