HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 10, 2003, 04:29 PM
Burlington, Ontario
Joined Jan 2003
106 Posts
Sig Riser 100 Question

I have an oportunity to finish building (covering only as I understand it) a hand -me-down Sig Riser 100. Anyone have any comments on this sailplane. I have an OLY 2 and am assuming it is simular with respect to strength and performance. Any mods on this model that would be recommended? Thanks very much.
Cheers
Rob
Rob Nelson is offline Find More Posts by Rob Nelson
Last edited by Rob Nelson; Oct 10, 2003 at 07:16 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 11, 2003, 09:29 AM
Punta Gorda, FL
Joined Apr 2002
4,952 Posts
I have no direct experience with the Sig Riser 100.

The specifications say it uses a modified Eppler 205 airfoil. If the modification didn't remove the Phillips entry by making the bottom of the airfoil flat all the way from leading to trailing edge and if the wing structure is sheeted top and bottom ahead of the spar, then the Sig Riser will have better wind penetration ability than the Olympic II. A sheeted D-tube will give the wing much needed torsional rigidity. The bolt on wing option will reduce parasitic drag further improving wind penetration, if the Riser was built with it.

To test the wing for the required strength, support the wing between two chair backs or tables spaced 42 inches apart. Apply 12 pounds of weight to the center of the wing. If it survives, it will be strong enough to withstand high start launches or moderate winch launches in winds up to about 12 MPH. If it doesn't survive then it wasn't worth covering, in my opinion.
Ollie is offline Find More Posts by Ollie
Old Oct 11, 2003, 01:10 PM
Joined Sep 2002
2,098 Posts
Thinking back 20+ years I would say that the Oly 2 and the Riser were similar in performance. Perhaps the Oly 2 had a slight edge.

If the plane is free, I would slap some 1/4" carbon tape on the spars, check the shear webs, cover it and use it for a back-up glider.