HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 30, 2012, 10:58 AM
Florida
Joined Jan 2010
496 Posts
Discussion
2-Stroke vs 4-Stroke

I'm sure this has been talked about to death already but I had a few questions:

I have a lot of experience with 2-Stroke Nitro engines as well as 2-Stroke gas engines. I am planning my next plane and I was thinking of a Decathlon in the .75-.90 size. All of my current planes are 3D from parkflyers to giant scale and I want to do a somewhat scale aerobatic plane. I was thinking of going simple route and doing a 2-Stroke nitro or potentially a smaller gas engine but 4-strokes have always interested me. I'd like to have a more scale sound and grunt.

Are 4-strokes any more reliable than 2-strokes? Also how do they compare for tuning purposes. I'm looking into the .90 size for 4-strokes.
94'325is is offline Find More Posts by 94'325is
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2012, 01:11 PM
United States, SD
Joined Aug 2010
1,061 Posts
I got a a magnum xl .91 with a used cub I got a couple weeks ago. I haven't really tuned it to yet, but I took it out in the yard and taxied it around and it seems like a good runner.
Kyler1 is offline Find More Posts by Kyler1
Old Jan 30, 2012, 05:10 PM
Who Dat!
United States, LA, New Orleans
Joined Sep 2011
650 Posts
this HAS been talked to death but the purpose of this forum is for people to be able to come, ask their questions, and then get answers to those questions.

i think you will be more than satisfied with a 2-stroke on that Decathlon, but a good 4-stroke will definitely add to the pleasure of flying it. a well maintained 4-stroke can be every bit as reliable as a 2-stroke of the same quality. they do have more parts and therefore require more maintenance and upkeep, but with one that has a proven design the maintenance thats required is minimal.