HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 10, 2003, 08:59 AM
Massachusetts
Joined Oct 2003
10 Posts
My dilema..what to build/fly for performance

Here is my dilema. I've invested heavily in giant scale aerobatic airplanes, and turbine jets. Very expensive, but a real thrill to fly. Unfortunately, my personality is such that I always like to learn new things, and can tire of something once I feel I have gotten where I wanted. While I will always keep a big plane or two, and a turbine in the hangar, I am looking for something that sparks an interest in me, like a kid in a new toy store.

I saw my first hotliner, or F5B ship recently, and it really caught my attention. It was fast, maneuverable, and would allow me to fly in the manner that interests me. While I am a competent pilot, I know nothing about the powerplants. I can make a good solder joint, can use a multimeter in its basic modes, and know the basics of the electrical system as it relates to RC. So, I have lots I can learn, while utilizing the skills I already have.

I have a VIP racer thats fun, but it only satisfies my need for speed. I have a Caleb that provides me with the capability of some soaring and as well as high speed flying. But, I am looking for the next step up;

Unlimited vertical climbs
High speed capability (say 130mph plus)
Motor run time of at least a couple minutes
Excellent maneuvering
Roughly 70-80" wing span or longer
Some soarging/thermaling ability
Fully molded or composite airframe
Minimal building time other than powerplant/RC equip
Easily transportable (two piece wing, removable stab, etc)
Cost range under $1500