HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
This thread is privately moderated by bonnie9496, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 28, 2012, 07:00 PM
Fighting Gravity
Australia, WA, Perth
Joined Jan 2011
551 Posts
Discussion
January 29th 2012

Thought I'd start the New Year with a blog about my RC model airplane experiences to date. I'll update it when I remember and share my successes and failures with RC modelling.

I live in Perth, Western Australia.

My RC background: Started flying about 6 years ago after seeing a guy in the park flying and thought "that looks fun, I'll do that". A week later I had my first RC model, an Electrafun XP. A day later I had a crashed plane as I really had no idea! I then followed a pattern of fix, crash, fix, crash.........I'm self taught and have learned the expensive and hard way! I went through 6 planes(4 x Electrafun, 1 x Aerobird Extreme, 1 x F27 Stryker) over about 12 months then gave the hobby away, as too hard and too frustrating. I did have moments of success and could fly my simple 3 channel plane just "OK" in circles, however it was always a knee trembling affair when I was flying.
The LHS I went to was next to useless with information and were only interested in selling another plane. The third plane they recommended/sold me was the Stryker . Let's just say that plane never flew more than 20 metres in its brief life!

Fast forward to May 2010 and I noticed a guy flying at a field whilst out cycling. Interest was rekindled and away I went. Purchased an Electrofun XP and a Cessna 206T from the same useless hobby shop and I was away. Still self taught so it was an ugly couple of months but I was improving!(with flying and repairs ). The other thing I found was RC Groups and this has been my greatest source of information and learning.
bonnie9496 is offline Find More Posts by bonnie9496
Last edited by bonnie9496; Jul 11, 2012 at 05:32 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2012, 10:59 AM
into the wild blue yonder